Thanksgiving Leftover Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Not quite fair to rate because I haven't tried this, but wish to throw in an even simpler "Thanksgiving Leftover Casserole" idea - while cleaning up after thanksgiving, take a baking dish of any sort, layer with turkey, dressing, yams, veggies, put mashed potatoes & gravy on the top, cover and freeze till you're ready to use it. Bake in 350 oven till hot! I learned this from my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I made this exactly as the recipe, I thought the recipe was wrong because of how liquid it was and seemed like the ingredients spread pretty thinly for the size of the pain but it turned out great and is even better the next day, if there is any left the next day, pan fried like a potato patty. Next time I fix it I will add more turkey, stuffing maybe more cheese, yes it was bland but still good comfort food. This will be part of our left over recipes staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
We thought this was a pretty good way to use up the leftovers....however, I did not make the sauce. I simply used the leftover gravy, as it was almost identical to the sauce. I wouldn't make it on a regular basis, but for Thanksgiving or Christmas leftovers, it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was GREAT!! I used a 7X11 pan, more turkey, leftover gravy, put the leftover broccoli bake on top of turkey, and used leftover sweet potatoes. . . VOILA, not many more leftovers ;) My kids LOVED it !! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This taste great, but the proportions are wrong, to me. There's way too much sauce and way too little turkey in the original recipe. l also left out the cheese. The sauce is quite tasty, though. I'd say half the sauce, triple the turkey (if you can), and there's no harm in more mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I believe that it is only fair to make a recipe according to the original instructions and thereafter make changes according to personal preferences. Without major changes, I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
not be a leftover person those was a really good dish, to prevent it from being bland as others mentioned I added chopped onion and celery to the sauce alog with extra salt, pepper and garlic salt. I also used 1/2 & 1/2 since I did not have any evaporated milk on had. It was a thanksgiving cheesy goodness! I think it fits better in a smaller pan for a more layered casserole but very good overall
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bamsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I made this with 2 cups of my leftover homemade gravy instead of making a sauce. That made it even faster to put together and quite tasty, too. This casserole is as good as the ingredients you make it with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was an easy and great way to use up the leftovers. I did add a bit more flavor to it with some sauted onions and herbs. This took less than 10 minutes to assemble then it was pop it in the oven and walk away. The sauce makes it. We'll have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNI_ONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States