Thanksgiving Leftover Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
Over the turkey I added 2 cans of peas, then the sauce (added onion soup mix & italian herbs), plus 2 C. cheese (could have used even more), mashed potatoes, and then some crushed croutons (didn't have the stuffing). My family loved it - even my picky little ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
I thought this was good, but was missing something. Maybe some stuffing mix in the casserole instead of only on top. Also, some tobasco in the white sauce might give it some zip. All in all, I'd make it again-I'd just tweak it a bit to make it yummy instead of just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAPOLIMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Absolutely the BEST! I made this the day after Thanksgiving with all my leftovers: turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes. I used probably four cups of turkey, and used regular milk instead of evaporated. I also used two cups of cheddar cheese. I followed another reader's suggested of putting some herbs in the white sauce--I think I used sage, thyme, marjorum. I froze the whole thing and thawed it out today (a month later) to bake. It smelled wonderful as it baked. The casserole is incredibly tasty, mild, and perfect for a freezing cold winter's night. Absolutely give this a try. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINMOMMY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
This was great!!! I also used 1 1/2-2 cups of turkey, and I didn't have any onion powder so I used some chopped onion and put it into the butter to soften. My husband had 3 servings, and took the one serving remaining for lunch the next day. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a great way to get rid of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
This was a great recipe and my family really enjoyed it. I didn't have evaporated milk so I used a can of cream of mushroom soup and it worked wonderfully. I will make this again! Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
I thought this was really good and the rest of the family was in agreement. i changed a few things...I added 4 cups of turkey (i was worried it would be watery) and i added double the breadcrumbs on top. The kids loved it and went back for seconds. Thanks for the great leftover recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
What a hit this one was! I used cream instead of the evap. milk, 2 cups turkey, a bit more than 1 cup cheese, and added 1 tsp seasoned salt to the sauce. Not at all bland. The kids loved it, my husband went for seconds, and it virutally disappeared. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
This is a great recipe. We like it with 1 1/2 to 2 cups turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Riverview, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
Very easy to make. The sauce is very good...an great alternative to creamed soup. However, next time I would add more turkey, extra seasonings, and definitely more cheese on top. The kids really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
This is a very tasty recipe! I used 2 tbsp of butter for the sauce (instead of 3tbsp)I used garlic powder (instead of the onion powder)I didn't use the dry stuffing bread mix because i used some chopped up leftover stuffing from sunday lunch instead. i also added 1 1/2 tsp of dried herbs into the sauce and used chicken instead of turkey. The last thing i did is i added a tin of peas and a tin of carrots to the chicken and stuffing mixture on the base as requested by other reviews. Thanx for a brilliant recipe and i'll use it again but next time i will try normal milk instead of evapourated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States