Thanksgiving Leftover Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This casserole is awesome!! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out wonderfully. Everyone in my family just gobbled it up, and can't wait to eat it again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I had to add a lot more turkey than was called for (total of about 3 cups) otherwise the turkey covered only a third of the bottom of the dish. I also had to use more mashed potatoes and more stuffing mix to cover everything. The dish turned out well; my husband loved it. I would just increase the amount of turkey, mashed potatoes, and stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aseleener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Indiana, USA
Living In: Middleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This is so good! I added much more turkey and added some chopped pork loin too! I added a couple of dashes of red pepper and a couple of dashes of tabasco sauce to the sauce. After I put the cheese on (about 2 cups), I added 1/2 cup creole veggies. You get this in the produce section already chopped. (fresh garlic, white onions, green onions, celery, and red bell peppers) For the topping, I used packaged dry corn bread stuffing crumbs and added a couple of dashes of Tony's. Again, this was REALLY good. This is so much better than any other left over turkey recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I had serious doubts but tried it anyways due to its ratings. We all loved it! I added lots more turkey, a bit more cheese, and I think I used quite a bit more potatoes "blobbed" on top. The sauce is a great alternative to canned soup, and less salty of course. My husband had thirds and my picky 2 year old even liked it. I am not much of a casserole fan and I even loved it! I made some quick cooking stuffing for the side as well as green beans. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I followed the recipe, but added leftover corn and mushrooms. It was not mushy or bland. I will make this again. Like others have said, this is an easy to reipe to modify to taste. The entire casserole disappeared quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
If you can get over the "look" of this casserole you'll enjoy this. Alas, my children couldn't get over the "mush-like" appearance. I only had swiss cheese which worked out just fine..next time I will add more stuffing. I like the crunch it provided.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Very tasty and wonderful texture. Excellent as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Great way to use up leftovers. I will keep this one in mind for chicken leftovers as well. I followed the recipe exactly but I did use instant mashed potatoes. Next time I will use a smaller baking dish as someone else advised because it is a little thin. This is a good one for picky eaters. I could understand how some found this bland. Would definitely add some seasoning to the sauce. I actually used leftover turkey steaks that I had heavily seasoned for grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
I made this in the february, but it was still easy with shortcuts like mashed potatoes from flakes and chicken breast. I did add a little more (packaged)herb seasoned dry stuffing over the meat and sauce (it looked too soupy) and my family loved it. I might have to rename this-its too good to make once a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
For me, this casserole was average at best. I followed the advise of other reviews and added some spice to the sauce, but it was still bland. I had hoped this might be the 'no canned soup included' recipe for leftover turkey I have been looking for. Sorry Sharon, but the search continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Thanksgiving Leftover Wedge Pies

Baked handheld pies filled with mashed potatoes, turkey, and cranberry sauce.

Thanksgiving Leftover Pizza

Ideal Thanksgiving leftover meal - pizza with gravy, mashed potatoes, and turkey!

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Combine two classic favorites - breakfast and pizza - for a new morning favorite!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States