Thanksgiving Leftover Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I roasted a large chicken this weekend and had some leftovers. I made this and it was great. I did not use the mashed potatoes because I didn't have any and per previous reveiwers, I added some poultry season to the sauce. I also made a box of instant stuffing per box directions. Next time I will add the potatoes. This was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This is wonderful! I, many others, increased the potatoes, chesse and added spices. I sauted celery and onion with the 3 tbsp butter and made sure the flour browned up a bit before adding the evap. milk. Increased the flour/butter just a little and also added some turkey broth that I had frozen from last turkeyday (a.k.a Thanksgiving). I popped it into the oven around 10 a.m. at 250 and covered it because we were heading to church. When we got back just after 12, I took off the foil, upped the temp to 350 and had a nice crispy, piping hot dinner in 15 min. I'm anxious to try it with my homemade gravy and stuffing at this years turkeyday! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Okay. So, I looked at the ingredients and thought that I could fit them into a 8x8 pan. And I could. I just wish I would have thought ahead and cut back on the sauce. After I used the sauce, I had about half the sauce leftover. I did a layer of sauce inbetween the layers of thanksgiving food. Seemed to work out great. The casserole was just moist enough. The sauce wasn't overpowering and had just the right touch for the casserole insides. My husband and I liked it but my kids did not. I would have put it in "to make again" recipe collection if my kids had liked it. This is why I'm only giving it three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME!! I have made this a number of times...even with chicken! I did add some flavouring - garlic powder and such - and some frozen veggies! YUMMY - for those who DON'T like creamy casseroles (like myself!) this one is a WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leaf Fan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Added dried onion flakes since didn't have onion powder, also added garlic and herb seasoned bread crumbs since only had plain stuffing mix. Had plain potatoes, mashed, no added butter or anything else. Increased the salt and pepper and added sage and thyme for more flavor. Turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
My husband and I LOVED this recipe. My youngest not so much. I will make this again! It's cheesy and comforting. The one thing I would change is adding more than one cup of diced turkey. Next time I will put a generous layer of turkey to the bottom layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Maybe I did something wrong, but we were not at all thrilled with this recipe. I even pumped it up a bit by adding a smidgen of garlic and sage per some of the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This was awesome!!! Since other reviewers mentioned it was bland, I roasted a head of garlic in the oven for 1/2 an hour and mixed that in with my leftover mashed potatoes. I made this the day after Thanksgiving so I just used the leftover stuffing and skipped the steps for the stuffing in the recipe. I also added some broccoli to the turkey layer because I had that leftover. It definitely needed that. My sister loved it so much that she said making this casserole should become a Thanksgiving tradition! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginniej

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Great way to use up those leftovers. Easy to adapt to your own flavor preferences. Goes together quickly, will be making many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Highland, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This turned out to be a great way to use leftovers. I took the advice of other reviewers and added to the sauce. I threw in some fresh tarragon and thyme as well as a tsp. of chicken bouillon. I also added a bit more flour to thicken the sauce. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thanksgiving Leftover Wedge Pies

Baked handheld pies filled with mashed potatoes, turkey, and cranberry sauce.

Thanksgiving Leftover Pizza

Ideal Thanksgiving leftover meal - pizza with gravy, mashed potatoes, and turkey!

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Combine two classic favorites - breakfast and pizza - for a new morning favorite!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States