Thanksgiving Leftover Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
We loved this recipe. As another member said, it beats the cream soup recipes and is a great way to use up leftovers. I only had one small (160 ml) can of evaporated milk so I upped the water a little. Rather than the stuffing mix, I heated some homemade stuffing. I also reheated the potatoes (they spread a lot easier). Because the sauce was already hot, as well as the stuffing and potatoes, I reduced the cooking time to 30 minutes. Voila! Fast and super supper. PS...one reviewer thought it was too sweet. You likely used sweetened canned milk instead of evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NB Roy
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Just fed this casserole to 7 seniors,from 84 to 91)a home care worker and myself, and 5 of them asked for seconds. we had a house party last night and had a lot of baked ham left over, so cubed that instead of the turkey. (After Christmas i will try it with turkey).I used a whole box of stuffing(Stove Top),and 4 cups of mashed potatoes. i used Skim milk in the white sauce and light old cheddar to cut down on fat. It definitely is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
To die for! Added more turkey and halved the recipe as it was just two of us. We ate the whole thing and would have gone back for more but there wasn't any. Great starter recipe that can be very forgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I didn't add the stuffing - something about thinking 'too much starch' - but I missed it. Husband loved this beyond words. We'll make it again next year! Gave this 4 stars instead of 5 because this isn't "the Best" it's a very creative way to serve up leftovers - and in that regard it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I have made this recipe twice in one week after Thanksgiving. My family loved it and also my guests. It was so easy and really emptied my refrigerator from all the leftovers. I seasoned the sauce mixture, added more cheese, and some turkey gravy on the mashed potatoes. And of course added a lot more than 1 cup of turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
With a few additions, FANTASTIC! It was so cool to have a recipe that not only used up the extra turkey I had, but also the potatoes and stuffing! Because of other reviewers comments I also sauteed some onions and minced garlic in the butter before adding the flour. I also used leftover prepared stuffing rather than dry and it was YUMMY! I probably tripled the amount of turkey and it still turned out perfectly. I even messed up and put the stuffing down before the potatoes, so the potatoes were on the top, but it still tasted great. I also added in some chopped up leftover broccoli, just sprinkled on top of the turkey. My picky eaters (ages 11, 8, and 4) also commented on how tasty it was. I'm definitely keeping this recipe for future Thanksgiving leftovers. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I loved this, what an easy way to use up leftovers. I seasoned the sauce with pepper, salt, garlic powder. I just used stuffing I already had made, added fresh parsley over the top of the turkey before adding the next layer. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALICIAJOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This is the way to eat Thanksgiving leftovers... Yum! I give it 4 stars because I did have to alter the recipe. I agree with previous posts that There isnt enough in the layering, so I added more. I used 2 cups turkey, 2-3 cups prepared stuffing, 2 cups mashed potatoes, & cream instead of evaporated milk. I also added garlic, onion powder & black pepper. Very, very good! Served this to family w/age ranging from 2 yrs-80yrs & everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This is excellent - however I don't understand how one cup of cooked turkey is going to cover a 13x9" pan. My daughter put a generous amount of turkey in the dish. Also, 2 cups of mashed potatoes would make for a very thin layer - she added a generous amount here as well. We added the following to the salt and pepper: one browned onion (omitted the onion powder), 1/2 tsp. thyme, 1/2 tsp. rosemary and 1 tsp. sage (as suggested by others). We also added a bit more cheese. I can't wait to try this with leftover chicken!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
read reviews and double every thing but sause, also add sage and thyme to me sause. Will make again maybe use leftover chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thanksgiving Leftover Wedge Pies

Baked handheld pies filled with mashed potatoes, turkey, and cranberry sauce.

Thanksgiving Leftover Pizza

Ideal Thanksgiving leftover meal - pizza with gravy, mashed potatoes, and turkey!

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Combine two classic favorites - breakfast and pizza - for a new morning favorite!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States