Thanksgiving Leftover Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I appreciate this idea on how to use leftovers but we found this to be just okay. The recipe does not make much (which is good) and can be prepared in a two quart casserole dish. We didn’t like the stuffing on top and ended up scraping it off. My son got the good idea to add bacon bits to his and that actually made it palatable. I doubt if I will be making again but if I do I will certainly use bacon bits on top instead of the stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Dry and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was actually pretty good!! I did saute some onion and garlic in the butter before adding the flour. Oh and definately double the amount of turkey. You will be missing the meat if you don't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blessedmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
mmm this was soo good, something different and a great way to use up your leftovers, definitely do the stuffing though like it says and don't use already made because it gave it a crunchiness...will definitely make again next year and years after...really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyss8928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Not quite fair to rate because I haven't tried this, but wish to throw in an even simpler "Thanksgiving Leftover Casserole" idea - while cleaning up after thanksgiving, take a baking dish of any sort, layer with turkey, dressing, yams, veggies, put mashed potatoes & gravy on the top, cover and freeze till you're ready to use it. Bake in 350 oven till hot! I learned this from my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I made this exactly as the recipe, I thought the recipe was wrong because of how liquid it was and seemed like the ingredients spread pretty thinly for the size of the pain but it turned out great and is even better the next day, if there is any left the next day, pan fried like a potato patty. Next time I fix it I will add more turkey, stuffing maybe more cheese, yes it was bland but still good comfort food. This will be part of our left over recipes staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
We thought this was a pretty good way to use up the leftovers....however, I did not make the sauce. I simply used the leftover gravy, as it was almost identical to the sauce. I wouldn't make it on a regular basis, but for Thanksgiving or Christmas leftovers, it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was GREAT!! I used a 7X11 pan, more turkey, leftover gravy, put the leftover broccoli bake on top of turkey, and used leftover sweet potatoes. . . VOILA, not many more leftovers ;) My kids LOVED it !! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This taste great, but the proportions are wrong, to me. There's way too much sauce and way too little turkey in the original recipe. l also left out the cheese. The sauce is quite tasty, though. I'd say half the sauce, triple the turkey (if you can), and there's no harm in more mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I believe that it is only fair to make a recipe according to the original instructions and thereafter make changes according to personal preferences. Without major changes, I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thanksgiving Leftover Wedge Pies

Baked handheld pies filled with mashed potatoes, turkey, and cranberry sauce.

Thanksgiving Leftover Pizza

Ideal Thanksgiving leftover meal - pizza with gravy, mashed potatoes, and turkey!

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Combine two classic favorites - breakfast and pizza - for a new morning favorite!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States