Thanksgiving Leftover Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I made this the other day for dinner using some left over turkey from Easter dinner. I followed the recipe for the most part, the only change I made was to add some onion sauteed in butter to the stuffing mix, I added more spice to the sauce (basil, seasoning salt and savory). Lastly, we found the sauce too thin, so we added more flour mixed with some of the sauce to thicken it further. The end result was pretty darn good and we'll likely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This would have been better if I hadn't accidentally bought condensed milk instead of evaporated milk. But it was still really yummy. Especially with left over gravy on top of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
My husband loved this! We used a garlic cheese mashed potato mix and I think that really helped add to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Pretty good. I added celery, garlic, and carrots to the sauce, and seasoned with Tony's seasoning salt. I also used some leftover prepared stuffing and sprinkled some extra cheese on top. This is a really good way to use up leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Willis, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
The sauce was a bit bland but the dish was OK never the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This was great! I will definitely make this again--and year round! I made a number of changes though-- first I used yogurt butter in place of butter which worked fine. I used 2% low fat evaporate milk and the sauce was the perfect richness while not feeling too heavy. To give the sauce more flavor I substituted chicken broth for the water, and added about 1/4-1/2t. Rosemary Herb blend. Also, I stir-fried 1c chopped onion in the onion for the stuffing mix for a couple minutes and threw in 2 stalks chopped celery at the last minute. I changed the amount of stuffing mix to 4 cups and left it as cubes to make it more stuffing-like. "Spreading" the mashed potatoes over a liquid was clearly not going to work so I dropped spoonfuls over the mixture as evenly as I could and it worked just fine. Easy and delicious! Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This was a good use of my Thanksgiving leftovers. My kids all ate it, I could hide vegetables in it without them getting upset, and my husband went for seconds. I made this earlier in the day then put it in the refrigerator. I heated it in the microwave for five minutes before putting it in the oven. I also put a thin layer of leftover yams on top. It gave it a nice zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I made this tonight. I made my Thanksgiving dinner last night at home. I did change this up just a little. I read in some of the reviews that is may have been a little bland. I used regular milk in the sauce (I thought I had evaporated milk but it was condenced...that would have been a gross mistake!!) And I did not add the water. I put the white sauce ontop of the turkey that I had mixed with some frozen mixed veggies and topped it with some leftover gravy. Then layered the rest on. And I added some french fried onions to the top with about 10 min. left in the baking time. Very yummy! I will make this with leftovers from every turkey....maybe even chicken! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Thanks for the idea for using Thanksgiving leftovers. I made a few changes though and it came out really tasty. First, I made a white sauce and then added the leftover turkey gravy for flavoring (about 2 cups of gravy). Then I added about 4 cups of chopped turkey to the mixture. I poured it into a large roasting pan (9x12) and topped off the turkey mixture first with mashed potatoes and then with the prepared stuffing that I had already made. For an extra crunch I added about 2 cups of crushed flavored croutons before baking. This not only made enough for 1 dinner but also will last for another dinner plus a couple of lunches. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was awesome! I used all the leftover PREPARED stuffing I had, which was at least half a bag. I layered it wrong--stuffing first, turkey with sauce and then the potatoes with cheese sprinkled on top. It was divine! I read the review on the blandness, so before I added the flour I added 1/4 chopped onion, 2 cloves chopped garlic, and a chopped celery stalk. THEN added 2 more tablespoons of butter and the flour. It was SOO good! I will make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thanksgiving Leftover Wedge Pies

Baked handheld pies filled with mashed potatoes, turkey, and cranberry sauce.

Thanksgiving Leftover Pizza

Ideal Thanksgiving leftover meal - pizza with gravy, mashed potatoes, and turkey!

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Combine two classic favorites - breakfast and pizza - for a new morning favorite!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States