Thanksgiving Leftover Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I was afraid to make this because everyone said it was too much filling for a 9 inch deep dish, so I had a smaller 8" pie crust standing by. I didn't use it. It's a Longaberger and maybe it's a little deeper than normal. I only modified by adding a tinge more cranberries. I baked it only 30 minutes because I had to leave the house, so the apples were a bit crisper than they should have been, but this was a KEEPER. Everyone loved it and asked to make it a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoneyBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I am giving this a 4 only because it was a little odd putting together -- I used double meat, mashed potatoes and cheese. The mashed potatoes were a little odd to layer/spread; and I was unsure about the stuffing - as it was essential dry stuffing - just the bread crumbs and butter and I was second guessing if that was correct... but it did work out ( I used stove top). All that being said the taste was delicious! We took it camping and it was great! My hisband raved about it. We felt there was plenty of seasoning/flavor. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaybo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This was a great recipe. I did not have potatoes on hand so I substituted creamy risotto rice cooked in chicken broth. It turned out great. I agreed with another rater to add spices so I added thyme, rosemary, and sage approx 1 tsp each. I added sauteed garlic 1 tsp and 1/2 onion to the evaporated milk. The dish was easy to cook and turned out beautifully. I would still increase the spices, onion, and garlic as it was delicious but a little too subtle. Kids age 2-6 loved the dish. I would make this again. Next time I think I would add some frozen peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Decent casserole. Kids all inhaled it, although we all said we tend to prefer the ingredients on their own. We usually love cheese and just couldn't seem to enjoy it in this one. I agree with the reviewers who said it needed more seasonings (I added a bunch and it would have been bland without). Also used twice the amount of meat called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This is the second time I have made it. The first time I followed the recipe exactly but with extra seasonings, salt pepper and poultry seasoning. The next time I had quite a bit of turkey gravy left over and used that instead of the milk sauce. It was very good both ways but the turkey gravy does give it a much nicer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Excellent. I didn't change a thing except I added some sage to the gravy It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I have done this for years but use leftover gravey for the milk mixture. It is a favorite And like the others I sautee my onions and add garlic (personal preference) And like the others the vegetable depends on what I have in the fridge Great comfort food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
It seems as though it's missing something ... maybe a crunchy layer? idk, really. Way too mushy for our taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
very simple and good! great way to use those leftovers to make something new and yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
It was a little too bland for my taste to start off with, so I used milk and cream cheese instead of evaporated milk, chicken stock for water, added onion, parsley, rosemary and thyme and increased the cheese and pepper. The family loved it, so I will definitely make it again with the same changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States