Thanksgiving Leftover Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
For me, this casserole was average at best. I followed the advise of other reviews and added some spice to the sauce, but it was still bland. I had hoped this might be the 'no canned soup included' recipe for leftover turkey I have been looking for. Sorry Sharon, but the search continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
This was a very good use of leftover turkey. Kids and hubby liked it, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEKABA99

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
This is a tasty dish. The only change I made was that I used regular milk with a little less water. Oh, and I doubled the turkey, and used more that listed cheese and potatoes. If I were to make this again I'd put in a layer of stuffing or veggies or something. It turned out a little thin. This is definatly a recipe that mix and match ingredients with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
My husband loved this one! He ate two plates full. I used more turkey, potatoes & stuffing,then called for and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
Over the turkey I added 2 cans of peas, then the sauce (added onion soup mix & italian herbs), plus 2 C. cheese (could have used even more), mashed potatoes, and then some crushed croutons (didn't have the stuffing). My family loved it - even my picky little ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
I thought this was good, but was missing something. Maybe some stuffing mix in the casserole instead of only on top. Also, some tobasco in the white sauce might give it some zip. All in all, I'd make it again-I'd just tweak it a bit to make it yummy instead of just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAPOLIMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Absolutely the BEST! I made this the day after Thanksgiving with all my leftovers: turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes. I used probably four cups of turkey, and used regular milk instead of evaporated. I also used two cups of cheddar cheese. I followed another reader's suggested of putting some herbs in the white sauce--I think I used sage, thyme, marjorum. I froze the whole thing and thawed it out today (a month later) to bake. It smelled wonderful as it baked. The casserole is incredibly tasty, mild, and perfect for a freezing cold winter's night. Absolutely give this a try. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINMOMMY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
This was great!!! I also used 1 1/2-2 cups of turkey, and I didn't have any onion powder so I used some chopped onion and put it into the butter to soften. My husband had 3 servings, and took the one serving remaining for lunch the next day. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a great way to get rid of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
This was a great recipe and my family really enjoyed it. I didn't have evaporated milk so I used a can of cream of mushroom soup and it worked wonderfully. I will make this again! Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
I thought this was really good and the rest of the family was in agreement. i changed a few things...I added 4 cups of turkey (i was worried it would be watery) and i added double the breadcrumbs on top. The kids loved it and went back for seconds. Thanks for the great leftover recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thanksgiving Leftover Wedge Pies

Baked handheld pies filled with mashed potatoes, turkey, and cranberry sauce.

Thanksgiving Leftover Pizza

Ideal Thanksgiving leftover meal - pizza with gravy, mashed potatoes, and turkey!

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Combine two classic favorites - breakfast and pizza - for a new morning favorite!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States