Thanksgiving Day Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I made this for a Christmas event but didn't care for the strawberries in it, and the texture of the cranberry skins was unpleasant. I had made another red gelatin salad which was similar but much better: Water reduced to 1 3/4 cup, raspberry gelatin instead of strawberry, an 8 oz. can of crushed pineapple with juice instead of frozen strawberries, jellied cranberry sauce instead of whole, same amount of chopped pecans, and add 3/4 cup orange juice and 1 T. lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Okay, this salad tastes AMAZING, but I had some serious issues with the appearance...first of all, I chilled the mold for 6-8 hours as stated, but when I turned the thing out onto a serving platter, it was too liquid to keep the pretty shape from the mold. The only change I made was to use the jellied cranberry sauce instead of whole berry. The topping was very tasty, but I found it to be lumpy...I would suggest beating the cream cheese with the sugar and lemon juice until fluffy, and then folding in the sour cream, I will do this next time I make this, and I will also put the jello part in a bowl instead of a mold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
In my family there has been a jellied cranberry salad with walnuts and dates for years, but this Thanksgiving I decided to try this and we all enjoyed it, I liked the strawberries in it. I made half with and half without nuts (the children).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marji

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boothbay Harbor, Maine, USA
Living In: Aptos, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Loved this recipe and will make every Thanksgiving forever. We did some whole berry and some jellied and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsbourne
Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This got rave reviews last year and I was just asked to bring it to Thanksgiving again, however, I did use jellied cranberry sauce, raspberry jello, and 8 oz crushed pineapple like a previous reviewer suggested. Thanks so much for the tip!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I have one thing to say about this recipe, DELICIOUS! It was a hit at our Thanksgiving table. I already have a request to bring to family Christmas party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairlawn, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
This was very good, even better the secnd day. However, mine didn't set as well as I would have liked, so would probably decrease the water a little bit the next time to see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I LOVE this recipe and so does my family. Sometimes, I even add a can of pineapple tidbits to it. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShellyMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Made for Thanksgiving, everyone loved it and said it would replace the regular cranberries we usually have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I made this for our Christmas dinner and it was a hit. Several guests asked for the recipe. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States