Thai-style Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
The sauce was overpowering and a bit on the tart side. It could have benefited from at least twice the brown sugar and perhaps a little (TBS or two) of water. As a side note: salting the cucumbers does work to get them to release the juices but depending on how much you put on, it can leave a lingering salty taste. Great for normal cucumbers but is offputting when combined with this sauce. I think it would be better to leave the juices and eat the dish quickly. I had some cold cooked chicken which I added. of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juno_lake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I had a chopped chicken thai salad at a local chain restaraunt that was fab! I wanted to duplicate it, so I created my own and used the dressing from this recipe. I chopped up a whole head of Napa cabbage, added chopped cucumbers, chopped fresh mint, juilianned carrots and red peppers and shredded chicken breast. It tasted JUST like the salad at the restaurant, only WAY spicier! I would have given this 5 stars, but thought the heat in this was way too much. I will used this recipe again, but turn down the heat by half. I didn't have tamarind, so I googled a substitute and used fresh lime juice instead. The flavor was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This salad blows my mind. I do like to salt the cucumbers for about an hour beforehand - pour a bunch of salt on your pile of sliced cukes sitting in a colander over a bowl or sink. (Like...a bunch of salt. You're rinsing it off anyway, so don't be shy.) Let them chill out for an hour, then rinse all that salt off and dry with a paper towel before moving on. Keeps things from getting watery once it sits for a bit. And you don't want to water down that dressing - really, I could just make that and skip the cukes, and eat it with a spoon instead. Anyway, I don't always have tamarind around, so will substitute lime juice in a pinch. (Although tamarind is delicious - it's what gives Worcestershire sauce that little extra sumpin' sumpin'.) Scallions don't hurt either, but you can survive without them. The sesame oil is non-negotiable though - it doesn't seem like much, but trust me, you want it in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Wonderful recipe with a great blend of Thai flavors. The whole family loved it. I used a fresh chili, minced, instead of the pepper flakes. I added a more peanuts and cilantro, because I love those flavors. Next time I might add some sliced green onions. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Awesomeness! and to add to the awesomeness I incorporated scallions. Num num num
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is great! I love all of the complex flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Great easy and fresh side dish! Very enjoyable. Easy to spice up if you like a little more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This was fabulous. I accidentally put one and a half tablespoons of brown sugar, so then I just basically doubled/tripled the other ingredients to make up for it. I also ate this immediately, but next time I will salt the cucumbers for an hour or so before mixing with the sauce, so I can refrigerate any leftovers without the cucumbers getting soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boston_jennifa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Delicious and authentic. I served it for a group of 8 tonight and it was the first dish to finish. The subtle fish sauce adds so much dimension to the marinade. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States