Thai Style Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lillpup
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Tasted like a dish you would pay $10 for at a Thai restaurant. Coconut and spices go well without an overpowering aftertaste. The only changes I made was substituting cilantro for the basil, and using frozen, cooked shrimp. Served over brown rice with a side of summer rolls. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillpup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
this is my favorite dish to cook. i substitute the turmeric with ground cumin, simmer at a higher temp for thickness, and serve over rice. good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I thought this was a wonderful recipe and would make it again. I did not have turmeric so I used curry as suggested by others. It was super easy to make and the sauce was excellent over rice. Very unsual dish and flavors from the standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Fantastic! I used tofu instead of shrimp and added a few serrano chili peppers to spice things up a bit. It was incredibly easy and so very yummy! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Stubbs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
An awesome recipe! I tried it out on my teenagers and the LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This recipe was GREAT!!! I have a hard time getting my family to try anything exotic...but I got rave reviews. Both my mom and my sister are dying for the recipe! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I had a feeling I'd like this recipe but I ended up LOVING it instead! I cheated and bought a jar of garlic and ginger paste. (I think it's made by "Spice World" and you can find it in the produce section.) Truly wonderful stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This was really good. I followed some other advice and reduce the liquid content. Turned out really good. The chef even got a kiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This dish is delicious and fairly easy to make. We usually let it simmer for more like 20 - 30 minutes because we like our sauce to be thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This was REALLY good. I followed the recipe pretty close to exact. I don't understand how people said it was too mild. Perhaps they didn't use a good jalapeno. Or perhaps they got rid of the ribs of the jalapeno. Or who knows... Anyway, we really liked it. It is soupy, but I just treated it like a curry and it was really good over rice. Oh, I did use a can of diced tomatoes that I drained instead of fresh because I didn't have fresh ones. Still worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Thai Shrimp Spirals

This delicious appetizer is crunchy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States