Thai Style Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I wish I could high-five this recipe. It was awesome. I do have some pointers... 1. I couldn't get the jalepeno, ginger, onion, garlic, and tumeric to make a "paste." It was a choppy mixture, which was fine for me because it didn't change the flavor or anything. Using a smaller food processor would have probably helped. 2. It was pretty soupy. I don't think you need to use as much coconut milk. A fourth or half cup less, depending on the serving size. If you put too much milk, it doesn't thicken like it should. 3. Make sure to use big shrimp! They shrink the more they cook. I used pre-cooked frozen shrimp. I am a pescaterian who doesn't eat dairy, so I really enjoy a lot of asian style food. And I'm a huge fan of anything spicy. The spicy was subtle, almost an after-spice. I poured the shrimp and sauce over brown rice. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Wonderful recipe - I did have a problem with getting the first ingredients to turn into a paste - but it did not matter, still cooked up great. It was a little runny as well, but with the rice - it is perfect. If you are excepting heat from the jalapeno, you best add more then one as their isn't any heat in this dish. I added at the very end with the basil, some snow peas, green onion, and some pre cooked fresh asparagus - and served on coconut rice. When I make this again I will double the garlic, ginger root, and jalapeno for more umph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This tasted exactly like one of my favorite dishes in Thailand! WONDERFUL!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Great dish that was tasty as well as easy to make. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This is awesome!!! My husband and I absolutely love this recipe. so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This was so delicious and easy to make! I doubled the amount of basil and garlic because we love those flavors, but otherwise followed the recipe as directed. I served it over a bed of jasmine rice, the timing of this was perfect! (start cooking onions when you cover & reduce heat on rice) Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey-Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Disappointing, especially after spending $$$ on the shrimp. I followed the recipe to the letter, tomotoes were mushy, sauce never thickened, and prep took almost an hour. I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Bridges Coffey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly except used light coconut milk and left the seeds in the jalapeno. It was pretty hot and very tasty. Will definitely make again, but will cut back to just half the seeds from the pepper next time. We served it over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I agree with other reviewers, needs more flavor. Next time, will keep jalopeno seeds, add more salt, ginger and add curry powdder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Wise Gilbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was absolutely delicious but my wife and I took a few extra steps to avoid some of the pitfalls others were having. First, when making the spice paste it's helpful to add some liquid (we used a few tablespoons of vegetable oil) so it could actually continue to flow down into the blender instead of just turning into whirling chunks. Next, for the coconut milk it's important to get a good brand. We used Asian Family as the milk is already quite thick. Cheaper brands are thin, forcing you to cook at a higher temperature for longer and thus risking overcooking the shrimp. Otherwise, it turned out great and tasted like a dish you would find in a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Krogman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Thai Shrimp Spirals

This delicious appetizer is crunchy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States