Thai Style Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
The flavor was awesome, it was too spicy for the kids and hubby but I loved it. I was out of turmeric so I used 1/2 teaspoon of curry powder and it was a very nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
My son, home from college for the summer, made this for us last night. I am not familiar with Thai food enough to recognize authenticity of a recipe, but this was a wonderful dish. The flavor was amazing. All of the ingredients stood out, but none overwhelmed the dish. There is a little bit of heat, but not to pronounced. He served this over rice noodles. We were thinking it would also be good as a soup if we upped the ingredients for the broth. Kind of a Thai flavored bisque. We were not sure how pastey it should be, but pulsed this a few times in the processor and made sure that the "paste" was cooked through before adding the shrimp. Be careful not to brown the garlic. Great dish and did not take a lot of time to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I wish I could high-five this recipe. It was awesome. I do have some pointers... 1. I couldn't get the jalepeno, ginger, onion, garlic, and tumeric to make a "paste." It was a choppy mixture, which was fine for me because it didn't change the flavor or anything. Using a smaller food processor would have probably helped. 2. It was pretty soupy. I don't think you need to use as much coconut milk. A fourth or half cup less, depending on the serving size. If you put too much milk, it doesn't thicken like it should. 3. Make sure to use big shrimp! They shrink the more they cook. I used pre-cooked frozen shrimp. I am a pescaterian who doesn't eat dairy, so I really enjoy a lot of asian style food. And I'm a huge fan of anything spicy. The spicy was subtle, almost an after-spice. I poured the shrimp and sauce over brown rice. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Wonderful recipe - I did have a problem with getting the first ingredients to turn into a paste - but it did not matter, still cooked up great. It was a little runny as well, but with the rice - it is perfect. If you are excepting heat from the jalapeno, you best add more then one as their isn't any heat in this dish. I added at the very end with the basil, some snow peas, green onion, and some pre cooked fresh asparagus - and served on coconut rice. When I make this again I will double the garlic, ginger root, and jalapeno for more umph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This tasted exactly like one of my favorite dishes in Thailand! WONDERFUL!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Great dish that was tasty as well as easy to make. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This is awesome!!! My husband and I absolutely love this recipe. so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This was so delicious and easy to make! I doubled the amount of basil and garlic because we love those flavors, but otherwise followed the recipe as directed. I served it over a bed of jasmine rice, the timing of this was perfect! (start cooking onions when you cover & reduce heat on rice) Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Pfeiffer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Disappointing, especially after spending $$$ on the shrimp. I followed the recipe to the letter, tomotoes were mushy, sauce never thickened, and prep took almost an hour. I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Bridges Coffey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly except used light coconut milk and left the seeds in the jalapeno. It was pretty hot and very tasty. Will definitely make again, but will cut back to just half the seeds from the pepper next time. We served it over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Thai Shrimp Spirals

This delicious appetizer is crunchy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States