Thai Style Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
5 star's hands down! I used 2 Thai red chili peppers instead of a jalapeno and Thai basil, both of which I picked out of my own little garden! Per other reviews added some sesame oil to the small food processor to make the paste. I also used 3/4 of a large can of diced tomatoes and drained them as I did not have fresh on hand. I added the basil a few minutes (maybe 5) BEFORE adding the shrimp (which was saved till the very last)and pronounced it done once the shrimp turned pink. This was simple to make but tasted as if it took an awful lot more effort! The only change I will make next time is to use a 3rd pepper for making it as is. My plans however are to double the recipe next time for company and leftovers for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Photo by panathenia
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
If you're expecting a spicy dish....this is not it. The flavours blend and balance very well together. The only thing I changed was to make the sauce and reduce it BEFORE adding the shrimp. Shrimp are cooked as soon as they are pink and shouldn't be simmered too long or they turn rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Since my wife is Thai, I thought I'd finally add some comments on this recipe. For creating the paste, there's no substitute for a good heavy Thai mortar and pestle. If you don't have that, add a little of the coconut milk to your food processor. As far as the criticism of it being "bland", try using Thai Chili's or Habanero to taste instead of the Jalapeno, or don't remove the hot seeds and inner flesh when you mash the Jalapeno, (you can mash the chili's to a paste separately and be careful and taste the sauce as it's cooking, these chili's are VERY hot so don't use too much!). Also, you can add a tablespoon or more of Palm Sugar to taste while its cooking. Coconut milk will thicken more the longer you cook it, so if your sauce is soupy, you're not cooking it long enough. Add the shrimp and basil last, once the sauce has thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This was better than I expected, mainly because it seemed too easy. I had to add 2 tbs of oil to make my paste like others and used curry and cumin in place of turmeric. I also subbed out basil with cilantro because I love cilantro in Thai food and it was a perfect fit. I will keep this one on hand as it is quite delicious and so fast to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I have made this over and over. The first time, my husband and I raced each other to the kitchen to finish off the sauce. We love it and make exactly as directed. I find the small electric food choppers to be the easiest for making the jalapeno/turmeric/ginger paste. I also use Roma tomatoes because I think they keep their color the best in this recipe. This goes perfectly over a generous scoop of Bazmati rice(or jasmine, anything aromatic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YoungEmC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
very delectable and just spicy enough! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stereo steve 85

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Good. Will make again with changes. It seemed to sweet to me. I used sweet Vidalia onions and sweet coconut milk since it was not specific in the recipe. Also the shrimp was overcooked in an attempt to thicken the sauce a little. I will make again without sweet onions and with unsweetened coconut milk. I'm an experimental cook, read- not very good, but will try again! This recipe is worth another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This was AMAZING! I loved it. My husband loved it. Kids...well I skewered some shrimp for them, because the sauce is spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I found it a little soupy. There was a bit too much sauce. I think adding more shrimp next time may help this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
this was very good. had to improvise a bit...used a ginger/garlic paste, and no jalapeno. instead i used a little indian chili powder, and it gave it just the right bite. i used some home made tomato sauce, and a whole can of coconut milk. topped with thai basil. served with basmati rice. delish! thanks for the post Colleen Moir!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Thai Shrimp Spirals

This delicious appetizer is crunchy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States