Thai Style Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
this is my favorite dish to cook. i substitute the turmeric with ground cumin, simmer at a higher temp for thickness, and serve over rice. good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
Although this wasn't bad, I was disappointed. I followed the recipe to the T, except I used a 5.5 oz can of coconut milk, which I believe is less than 1 cup. Still, the mixture came out soupy and had to be strained. My food processor (a standard Cuisinart) wouldn't blend the ginger and jalepeno to a paste, the best I could get was a fine dice. I expected more flavor from the recipe, but it turned out rather bland. Perhaps the shrimp should be marinated in the coconut milk/jalepeno/tumeric/ginger mixture?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eileen in OK
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This was just an "okay" dish that I will probably not make again. I too could not get a paste in my blender and added two Tbsp. of the coconut milk to the mix to get a paste. I also used a can of diced tomatoes. The color was wonderful, it was a little soupier than I'd hoped, and even though it smelled fantastic, my husband and I both felt it lacked flavor. Overall, not a bad recipe, but needs some tweaking, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in OK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I thought this was a wonderful recipe and would make it again. I did not have turmeric so I used curry as suggested by others. It was super easy to make and the sauce was excellent over rice. Very unsual dish and flavors from the standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
I enjoyed this recipe quite a bit. Served it over rice noodles, which sopped up the yummy sauce well. Instead of turmeric, I used curry. I added a little extra ginger, and cut down on the tomatoes by about a 1/3 cup (after seeding and dicing, I had almost 2 cups). I put about a tablespoon of peanut oil in the food processor with the spices so they pureed a bit better. I also substituted cilantro for the basil, because that's what was on hand. It was just fine, but I look forward to using basil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lillpup
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Tasted like a dish you would pay $10 for at a Thai restaurant. Coconut and spices go well without an overpowering aftertaste. The only changes I made was substituting cilantro for the basil, and using frozen, cooked shrimp. Served over brown rice with a side of summer rolls. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillpup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
a nice and simple dish. i found it very satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was absolutely delicious but my wife and I took a few extra steps to avoid some of the pitfalls others were having. First, when making the spice paste it's helpful to add some liquid (we used a few tablespoons of vegetable oil) so it could actually continue to flow down into the blender instead of just turning into whirling chunks. Next, for the coconut milk it's important to get a good brand. We used Asian Family as the milk is already quite thick. Cheaper brands are thin, forcing you to cook at a higher temperature for longer and thus risking overcooking the shrimp. Otherwise, it turned out great and tasted like a dish you would find in a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I had a feeling I'd like this recipe but I ended up LOVING it instead! I cheated and bought a jar of garlic and ginger paste. (I think it's made by "Spice World" and you can find it in the produce section.) Truly wonderful stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Recipe had a very nice flavor. I would recommend leaving the seeds in the jalapeno to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Thai Shrimp Spirals

This delicious appetizer is crunchy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States