Thai Style Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This tasted exactly like one of my favorite dishes in Thailand! WONDERFUL!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Great dish that was tasty as well as easy to make. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This is awesome!!! My husband and I absolutely love this recipe. so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This was so delicious and easy to make! I doubled the amount of basil and garlic because we love those flavors, but otherwise followed the recipe as directed. I served it over a bed of jasmine rice, the timing of this was perfect! (start cooking onions when you cover & reduce heat on rice) Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey-Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Disappointing, especially after spending $$$ on the shrimp. I followed the recipe to the letter, tomotoes were mushy, sauce never thickened, and prep took almost an hour. I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coffeybunny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly except used light coconut milk and left the seeds in the jalapeno. It was pretty hot and very tasty. Will definitely make again, but will cut back to just half the seeds from the pepper next time. We served it over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I agree with other reviewers, needs more flavor. Next time, will keep jalopeno seeds, add more salt, ginger and add curry powdder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was absolutely delicious but my wife and I took a few extra steps to avoid some of the pitfalls others were having. First, when making the spice paste it's helpful to add some liquid (we used a few tablespoons of vegetable oil) so it could actually continue to flow down into the blender instead of just turning into whirling chunks. Next, for the coconut milk it's important to get a good brand. We used Asian Family as the milk is already quite thick. Cheaper brands are thin, forcing you to cook at a higher temperature for longer and thus risking overcooking the shrimp. Otherwise, it turned out great and tasted like a dish you would find in a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Not very impressed with this recipe. As others have noted, the ingredients in the first part of the recipe don't blend very well into a sauce. I had to add a bit of oil and coconut milk in order to get everything mixed. The dish was pretty flavorless, too, though had a nice spice to it (I left the seeds in the jalapenos, which helped). My wife and I thought it would be great with some curry or something to flesh it out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This was REALLY good. I followed the recipe pretty close to exact. I don't understand how people said it was too mild. Perhaps they didn't use a good jalapeno. Or perhaps they got rid of the ribs of the jalapeno. Or who knows... Anyway, we really liked it. It is soupy, but I just treated it like a curry and it was really good over rice. Oh, I did use a can of diced tomatoes that I drained instead of fresh because I didn't have fresh ones. Still worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Thai Shrimp Spirals

This delicious appetizer is crunchy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States