Thai Style Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
Although this wasn't bad, I was disappointed. I followed the recipe to the T, except I used a 5.5 oz can of coconut milk, which I believe is less than 1 cup. Still, the mixture came out soupy and had to be strained. My food processor (a standard Cuisinart) wouldn't blend the ginger and jalepeno to a paste, the best I could get was a fine dice. I expected more flavor from the recipe, but it turned out rather bland. Perhaps the shrimp should be marinated in the coconut milk/jalepeno/tumeric/ginger mixture?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
this is my favorite dish to cook. i substitute the turmeric with ground cumin, simmer at a higher temp for thickness, and serve over rice. good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
I enjoyed this recipe quite a bit. Served it over rice noodles, which sopped up the yummy sauce well. Instead of turmeric, I used curry. I added a little extra ginger, and cut down on the tomatoes by about a 1/3 cup (after seeding and dicing, I had almost 2 cups). I put about a tablespoon of peanut oil in the food processor with the spices so they pureed a bit better. I also substituted cilantro for the basil, because that's what was on hand. It was just fine, but I look forward to using basil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
a nice and simple dish. i found it very satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Fantastic! I used tofu instead of shrimp and added a few serrano chili peppers to spice things up a bit. It was incredibly easy and so very yummy! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Stubbs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
An awesome recipe! I tried it out on my teenagers and the LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eileen in IL
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This was just an "okay" dish that I will probably not make again. I too could not get a paste in my blender and added two Tbsp. of the coconut milk to the mix to get a paste. I also used a can of diced tomatoes. The color was wonderful, it was a little soupier than I'd hoped, and even though it smelled fantastic, my husband and I both felt it lacked flavor. Overall, not a bad recipe, but needs some tweaking, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in IL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Recipe had a very nice flavor. I would recommend leaving the seeds in the jalapeno to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This recipe was GREAT!!! I have a hard time getting my family to try anything exotic...but I got rave reviews. Both my mom and my sister are dying for the recipe! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I thought this was a wonderful recipe and would make it again. I did not have turmeric so I used curry as suggested by others. It was super easy to make and the sauce was excellent over rice. Very unsual dish and flavors from the standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Thai Shrimp Spirals

This delicious appetizer is crunchy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States