Thai Style Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I agree with other reviewers, needs more flavor. Next time, will keep jalopeno seeds, add more salt, ginger and add curry powdder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Wise Gilbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was absolutely delicious but my wife and I took a few extra steps to avoid some of the pitfalls others were having. First, when making the spice paste it's helpful to add some liquid (we used a few tablespoons of vegetable oil) so it could actually continue to flow down into the blender instead of just turning into whirling chunks. Next, for the coconut milk it's important to get a good brand. We used Asian Family as the milk is already quite thick. Cheaper brands are thin, forcing you to cook at a higher temperature for longer and thus risking overcooking the shrimp. Otherwise, it turned out great and tasted like a dish you would find in a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Krogman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Not very impressed with this recipe. As others have noted, the ingredients in the first part of the recipe don't blend very well into a sauce. I had to add a bit of oil and coconut milk in order to get everything mixed. The dish was pretty flavorless, too, though had a nice spice to it (I left the seeds in the jalapenos, which helped). My wife and I thought it would be great with some curry or something to flesh it out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This was REALLY good. I followed the recipe pretty close to exact. I don't understand how people said it was too mild. Perhaps they didn't use a good jalapeno. Or perhaps they got rid of the ribs of the jalapeno. Or who knows... Anyway, we really liked it. It is soupy, but I just treated it like a curry and it was really good over rice. Oh, I did use a can of diced tomatoes that I drained instead of fresh because I didn't have fresh ones. Still worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This dish is delicious and fairly easy to make. We usually let it simmer for more like 20 - 30 minutes because we like our sauce to be thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Strange, bland and soupy :( I so wanted to like this dish because it uses several of my favorite ingredients (jalapenos, coconut milk, ginger...). However, as many commented, this recipe needs some major tweaking. Overall, it lacks substance - the sauce is boring, despite its list of bold ingredients. Cutting down on coconut milk won't help this. As a last ditch effort, I added a titch of sugar, a dash of red chili paste and a handful of cilantro. But really, I felt like I was kicking a dead horse trying to save this recipe. Flavor lovers, look elsewhere...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadtownCooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This has a beautiful light flavor to it. My first thought was like some other reviewers that it needed a little more spice, but then I remembered that a lot of thai dishes are light and not bold. This is a wonderful summer dish and easy to make. I didn't think the sauce was to thin I served it over rice and it was great. I will make this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This was really good. I followed some other advice and reduce the liquid content. Turned out really good. The chef even got a kiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lillpup
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Tasted like a dish you would pay $10 for at a Thai restaurant. Coconut and spices go well without an overpowering aftertaste. The only changes I made was substituting cilantro for the basil, and using frozen, cooked shrimp. Served over brown rice with a side of summer rolls. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillpup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I cooked this for my husband and I last week. It was delicious! I found it had a bit too much liquid, I am making it again tonight and will use less coconut milk so that it's not so 'soupy'. Otherwise, a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Thai Shrimp Spirals

This delicious appetizer is crunchy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States