Thai Style Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Everybody loved this one, although I did make a few changes- Added a little of the coconut milk to the paste while processing to make it easier to blend as suggested. Also, subbed one big red pepper for the tomatoes (didn't have any), and I think this was actually way better- helped with the watery problem. Subbed cilantro for the basil, again I think this was great because it's not as sweet. Needed 1/2 tsp cornstarch at the end to thicken up the sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Brought this to a potluck and was hands down the winner out of 5 dishes. Yep. Mmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
We really liked this and will make it again. The only changes I made: I added a thai chili pepper to the paste mix, and added about 2 teaspoons of red curry paste and a couple of healthy dashes of red pepper flakes to the sauce. (we like it spicy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This is one of my favorite recipes! So easy, so tasty! Just added more basil and a lot of fresh coriander. But this is to my taste. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Very flavorful. Took a bit longer to prep than stated. Other reviewers had trouble getting spice paste in blender, so I used a mortar and pestle. It wasn't a paste but it melded together. I upped the spices a little bit and added curry too. I put it over chinese noodles. It tasted like in a restaurant. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berry Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Ok, so I read a lot of reviews before making. For the paste I added a tablespoon of toasted sesame oil to help the garlic, jalapeno & ginger stick all together. I added kale, mushrooms and about 1/4 of a yellow pepper in with the onion. I added 1 whole can of lite cocnut milk, not just a cup like the recipe calls for. The level of heat was good because I kept the seeds in the jalapeno. But there is something major missing, and I can't exactly place it, definitely a depth of flavor is lacking. I served it over jasmine rice, which is my favorite. I added curry powder, and that helped somewhat, but this is just too bland tasting for all the interesting ingreduents that went into it. I am really disappointed because I was soooo looking forward to this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
this was an amazing dish and only missed out on 5 stars because I, like many others who rated this recipe, had to skip the "make a paste" part of the ginger/jalapeno etc because it just doesn't work in a blender. I just grated my ginger, chopped the jalapeno as fine as possible. The sauce came out creamy and delicious with a lot of subtlety. It was a lovely meal! I served it over brown rice that I had mixed with some sweet peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisarky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
The flavor was awesome, it was too spicy for the kids and hubby but I loved it. I was out of turmeric so I used 1/2 teaspoon of curry powder and it was a very nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
My son, home from college for the summer, made this for us last night. I am not familiar with Thai food enough to recognize authenticity of a recipe, but this was a wonderful dish. The flavor was amazing. All of the ingredients stood out, but none overwhelmed the dish. There is a little bit of heat, but not to pronounced. He served this over rice noodles. We were thinking it would also be good as a soup if we upped the ingredients for the broth. Kind of a Thai flavored bisque. We were not sure how pastey it should be, but pulsed this a few times in the processor and made sure that the "paste" was cooked through before adding the shrimp. Be careful not to brown the garlic. Great dish and did not take a lot of time to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I wish I could high-five this recipe. It was awesome. I do have some pointers... 1. I couldn't get the jalepeno, ginger, onion, garlic, and tumeric to make a "paste." It was a choppy mixture, which was fine for me because it didn't change the flavor or anything. Using a smaller food processor would have probably helped. 2. It was pretty soupy. I don't think you need to use as much coconut milk. A fourth or half cup less, depending on the serving size. If you put too much milk, it doesn't thicken like it should. 3. Make sure to use big shrimp! They shrink the more they cook. I used pre-cooked frozen shrimp. I am a pescaterian who doesn't eat dairy, so I really enjoy a lot of asian style food. And I'm a huge fan of anything spicy. The spicy was subtle, almost an after-spice. I poured the shrimp and sauce over brown rice. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Thai Shrimp Spirals

This delicious appetizer is crunchy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States