Thai-Style Grapefruit and Prawn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I used cayenne pepper since I didn't have the red chile pepper. I didn't like it at first but the next day when the flavors were well blended and it was chillled, it was very good. I will agree with another commenter that the fish sauce smelled pretty rank. I was worried that I ruined the dish once i put in the fish sauce..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bomael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
LOVE this! We were a little nervous of trying it because it's completely different from the kind of food that we normally eat, but I had grapefruit I needed to get rid of, and this was definitely the way to go about doing it. The only thing I changed was that I used a large red jalapeno instead of the red chile pepper, because that's what I had on hand, and 1/2 tsp of grade B maple syrup instead of brown sugar, for the same reason. I think next time around I will cut the amounts for the liquid ingredients in half and let the grapefruit drain over the sink after it's been peeled and de-membraned, because it was pretty soupy towards the bottom. Otherwise, the flavor was amazing. We will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Excellent! Delivers everything promised! Love it! Can use pre-packaged cooked prawns if you like. Perhaps not an authentic Thai recipe, but then the title DOES say it's Thai-style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya Jane

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was simple to make and very tasty to eat - so the best review wording would be "Simply brilliant". Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I tried this recipe because we love grapefruit/avocado salads. Sadly, this was not at all what I was expecting. I'm guessing I bought the wrong type of fish sauce (I thought it was Thai, but maybe not) because as soon as I put it on the dish smelled rank.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I made this hot and it was really easy to make. I liked it but the rest of the family was not crazy about it and just picked out the shrimp. It was much better cold the next day. I like the mix of spicy and tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I return again and again to Swiss Phil's recipes and his recommendations. They all seem so good and aimed at me and the Café in which I work. This is as he describes, sensually spicy, and has rapidly become a big hit. We call it Thai Prawns with Grapefruit! And when we ran out of it, I just went a bought some cooked prawns and used them with no real difference detectable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canterbury, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Amazingly flavorful!! I substituted a tablespoon or so of sweet thai chili sauce instead of the chili pepper and brown sugar. Served with corn muffins this was a perfect supper for a hot summer evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States