Thai-Style Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I used this recipe on some wings I made for the super bowl. I had this kind, original hot, and cajun. These in particular were so yummy, they were awesome. My first time making the recipe I followed it exactly and it turned out great ( i actually wish I used more jalapeno b/c i wanted it to be more spicy). Then second time I was making this for marinade for steaks which is why I am writing this review. DO NOT use apple cider vinegar. The first time I just used white vinegar and it tasted great. This second (for steaks) i used apple cider. Then when it was done it had a very funky taste. so DO NOT use apple cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by troym40
Home Town: Cole Camp, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This sauce is amazing! I use this sauce for everything... salmon, chicken wings, burgers.. etc. I also like to add chili peppers or dices of bell peppers in the sauce. The sugar helps to even out the saltiness in the fish sauce and makes a great sauce :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This is a really good recipe that will allow an experienced cook to make subtle changes in the base flavor ingredients, as desired. Some ginger is a good idea. I made this exactly as described the first time, and there's plenty of sauce to handle 5 lbs. of wings, no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ranger Rick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Iowa, USA
Living In: Monticello, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I've never cooked Thai food before and based on some of the reviews I was worried about using the fish sauce. The smell of the stuff when I opened the bottle did little to allay my fears. But I went ahead and used the amount in the recipe and it turned out fantastic! The sauce blends nicely but still adds a distinct flavour to the sauce. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This was a fantastic success at my office pot luck. I had to make 10 copies of the recipie for my co-workers! So easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
This garlic sauce is excellent! Very authentic. I experienced 5-star results by frying, Chiang Mai style, instead of baking. A batch of about 7 drumstucks were marinated in a mixture of 1 tbsp fish sauce, 1 tsp salt, 1 tsp white pepper, and 8 cloves of garlic for 30 minutes. The chicken was then fried in vegetable oil in a wok maintained as close as possible to 350 degrees for about 10 minutes. I also substituted 4 thai chili peppers instead of jalapenos. The garlic sauce is the pefect complement. My wife's family is from Phuket and shes tells me that the sauce reminds her of the taste she used to encounter at the street vendors waiting outside her school when she was a kid. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
These were very easy to make and I LOVE that it didn't require the mess of frying the wings. I made them for a party and what a hit! The combination of flavors is great and it looks so nice on a platter. There wasn't a single wing left, and several people asked me for the recipe. As one who isn't even much a fan of wings, I'll definitely be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
The recipe is awesome! I actually made this for my husband who's picky and he said its delicious! I thought it would be spicy but it wasn't as bad as I thought when I ate it! Thanks for the delicious wings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon tee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This sauce was awesome! I made a half batch of this recipe & my husband & I nearly polished off all of them! I made some changes based on what I had on hand but I stayed true to the essence of the recipe. I only had 5 good cloves of garlic - it was enough but a few more would have been nice. (Remember, pressing garlic reduces the volume greatly, so if your measuring, I think the recipe means chopped, not pressed.) I reduced the sugar a bit & used raw turbinado sugar, I used water instead of broth to keep it simple, and I used my homemade crushed dried red asian chili and sesame oil sauce instead of jalepenos (like the kind of hot chili sauce you can order on the side in a Thai restaurant.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bourbon, Missouri, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
The sauce is something of an acquired taste and needs some getting used to. However, once that is done, it tastes great with the chicken. For personal tastes, I halved the sugar as we are not huge on overly sweet sauces and moderated the fish sauce to accommodate the halved sugar. Overall a very addictive sauce and a pretty easy dish to whip up. Note: I used 3 dried Thai red chili instead of jalapeños since I have a bag of it. Would highly recommend using that over jalapeños as it adds a somewhat smoky flavor to the sauce and spicer too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Japanese Chicken Wings

See how to make tangy, sticky, delicious 5-star chicken wings.

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States