Thai-Style Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This was a fantastic success at my office pot luck. I had to make 10 copies of the recipie for my co-workers! So easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
These were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
This garlic sauce is excellent! Very authentic. I experienced 5-star results by frying, Chiang Mai style, instead of baking. A batch of about 7 drumstucks were marinated in a mixture of 1 tbsp fish sauce, 1 tsp salt, 1 tsp white pepper, and 8 cloves of garlic for 30 minutes. The chicken was then fried in vegetable oil in a wok maintained as close as possible to 350 degrees for about 10 minutes. I also substituted 4 thai chili peppers instead of jalapenos. The garlic sauce is the pefect complement. My wife's family is from Phuket and shes tells me that the sauce reminds her of the taste she used to encounter at the street vendors waiting outside her school when she was a kid. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
These were very easy to make and I LOVE that it didn't require the mess of frying the wings. I made them for a party and what a hit! The combination of flavors is great and it looks so nice on a platter. There wasn't a single wing left, and several people asked me for the recipe. As one who isn't even much a fan of wings, I'll definitely be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
This turned out very good. The garlic sauce taste very similar to sweet & sour sauce. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
They were good. I think next time I will go more spicy and less fish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I had bought a bag of frozen wings by mistake so decided to use them in a recipe that didn't need to be fried and this fit the bill (or so I thought). On the advice of other reviewers, I cut the fish sauce to 1/4, and also cut down on the sugar...using half brown and half white. I had to read the amount of garlic twice(and I am a garlic lover) 1/3 CUP of crushed garlic seemed like a bit much but I proceeded. That pretty much equals a whole bulb of garlic once you get it crushed. I was hesitant to sautee that much garlic in oil for fear of getting too brown and tasting bitter. I lightly sauteed it in some wok oil to add a bit of sesame flavor to the dish. I used 2 whole jalepenos with the seeds in, as I like heat. When I tasted the sauce, it was very overpowering with garlic and not pleasant tasting garlic at that. I added about a tsp. of sesame oil for flavor and even though that helped, it still was too sweet, I could taste the fish sauce, and that overpowering garlic flavor was too much. I put the sauce on the wings about the last 10 min. of baking to try to mellow the flavor along with some sesame seeds on top to toast. It was a little better after being in the oven, but there was no way I could have stood that sauce to just pour over at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
The recipe is awesome! I actually made this for my husband who's picky and he said its delicious! I thought it would be spicy but it wasn't as bad as I thought when I ate it! Thanks for the delicious wings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon tee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This was fantastic. The only things I changed were to use a milder pepper in place of the jalapeno since I can't eat "very spicy" food. I also had to bake the chicken more like an hour and a half to get the level of crispy I wanted. I added the sauce the last 15 min. of baking to make the sauce really stick. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Maybe it's just me not caring for this flavor combination, because I certainly like all the ingredients (however, less sugar). I would recommend moving step 3 to step 1, since roasting the chicken wings takes much longer than preparing the sauce. Sorry, but not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodieGal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Japanese Chicken Wings

See how to make tangy, sticky, delicious 5-star chicken wings.

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States