Thai-Style Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Just needs a little more spice. very good tho
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Newport, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KaponE
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I followed the recipe pretty much exactly, with the exception of substituting Thai birdseye chiles (prik ki nu) for the jalepenos and increasing proportions of ingredients because I used a 4-lb bag of thawed drumettes. I used the sauce as a marinade overnight, and then shook the marinade off of the wings. I then placed them on a jelly roll pan sprayed with non-stick spray and baked them at 450F until they had a nice color. I had reserved the marinade; I boiled it down to a semi-thick glace, and spooned it over the wings. I then garnished with extra chiles and served with the 'Satay Sauce' (adding garlic and ginger) found on this site. SUPER good, but get your mileage out of the sauce by marinading first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaponE

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Mckinleyville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This sauce was awesome! I made a half batch of this recipe & my husband & I nearly polished off all of them! I made some changes based on what I had on hand but I stayed true to the essence of the recipe. I only had 5 good cloves of garlic - it was enough but a few more would have been nice. (Remember, pressing garlic reduces the volume greatly, so if your measuring, I think the recipe means chopped, not pressed.) I reduced the sugar a bit & used raw turbinado sugar, I used water instead of broth to keep it simple, and I used my homemade crushed dried red asian chili and sesame oil sauce instead of jalepenos (like the kind of hot chili sauce you can order on the side in a Thai restaurant.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bourbon, Missouri, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Maybe it's just me not caring for this flavor combination, because I certainly like all the ingredients (however, less sugar). I would recommend moving step 3 to step 1, since roasting the chicken wings takes much longer than preparing the sauce. Sorry, but not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodieGal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This was fantastic. The only things I changed were to use a milder pepper in place of the jalapeno since I can't eat "very spicy" food. I also had to bake the chicken more like an hour and a half to get the level of crispy I wanted. I added the sauce the last 15 min. of baking to make the sauce really stick. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
The recipe is awesome! I actually made this for my husband who's picky and he said its delicious! I thought it would be spicy but it wasn't as bad as I thought when I ate it! Thanks for the delicious wings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon tee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I had bought a bag of frozen wings by mistake so decided to use them in a recipe that didn't need to be fried and this fit the bill (or so I thought). On the advice of other reviewers, I cut the fish sauce to 1/4, and also cut down on the sugar...using half brown and half white. I had to read the amount of garlic twice(and I am a garlic lover) 1/3 CUP of crushed garlic seemed like a bit much but I proceeded. That pretty much equals a whole bulb of garlic once you get it crushed. I was hesitant to sautee that much garlic in oil for fear of getting too brown and tasting bitter. I lightly sauteed it in some wok oil to add a bit of sesame flavor to the dish. I used 2 whole jalepenos with the seeds in, as I like heat. When I tasted the sauce, it was very overpowering with garlic and not pleasant tasting garlic at that. I added about a tsp. of sesame oil for flavor and even though that helped, it still was too sweet, I could taste the fish sauce, and that overpowering garlic flavor was too much. I put the sauce on the wings about the last 10 min. of baking to try to mellow the flavor along with some sesame seeds on top to toast. It was a little better after being in the oven, but there was no way I could have stood that sauce to just pour over at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
They were good. I think next time I will go more spicy and less fish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
This turned out very good. The garlic sauce taste very similar to sweet & sour sauce. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
These were very easy to make and I LOVE that it didn't require the mess of frying the wings. I made them for a party and what a hit! The combination of flavors is great and it looks so nice on a platter. There wasn't a single wing left, and several people asked me for the recipe. As one who isn't even much a fan of wings, I'll definitely be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Japanese Chicken Wings

See how to make tangy, sticky, delicious 5-star chicken wings.

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States