Thai-Style Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
The sauce is something of an acquired taste and needs some getting used to. However, once that is done, it tastes great with the chicken. For personal tastes, I halved the sugar as we are not huge on overly sweet sauces and moderated the fish sauce to accommodate the halved sugar. Overall a very addictive sauce and a pretty easy dish to whip up. Note: I used 3 dried Thai red chili instead of jalapeños since I have a bag of it. Would highly recommend using that over jalapeños as it adds a somewhat smoky flavor to the sauce and spicer too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I've never cooked Thai food before and based on some of the reviews I was worried about using the fish sauce. The smell of the stuff when I opened the bottle did little to allay my fears. But I went ahead and used the amount in the recipe and it turned out fantastic! The sauce blends nicely but still adds a distinct flavour to the sauce. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This sauce is amazing! I use this sauce for everything... salmon, chicken wings, burgers.. etc. I also like to add chili peppers or dices of bell peppers in the sauce. The sugar helps to even out the saltiness in the fish sauce and makes a great sauce :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Very good. This recipe makes some sticky spicy wings. I added 1 tbsp of brown sugar to sweeten the taste and this made it all the better. A great recipe that was easy and delicious. Served with asian sticky rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I used this recipe on some wings I made for the super bowl. I had this kind, original hot, and cajun. These in particular were so yummy, they were awesome. My first time making the recipe I followed it exactly and it turned out great ( i actually wish I used more jalapeno b/c i wanted it to be more spicy). Then second time I was making this for marinade for steaks which is why I am writing this review. DO NOT use apple cider vinegar. The first time I just used white vinegar and it tasted great. This second (for steaks) i used apple cider. Then when it was done it had a very funky taste. so DO NOT use apple cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by troym40
Home Town: Cole Camp, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
These were tasty. Not overly memorable, but a good solid recipe to use up chicken wings. I can't bear to use that partially hydrogenated vegetable oil stuff, so I used rendered chicken fat from my homemade stock. My husband said this was sort of a sweet and sour sauce. Don't be afraid to add extra jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
these were okay. I used less sugar and chili powder as I didn't have jalapenos or paprika on hand. Edible and taste good just not really my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philly6288

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I was excited to find this recipe, as Thai food is a favorite in my home. To be fair to the submitter, I didn't change a thing while making the recipe. DH and I couldn't take the sweetness. I will try the concept again but with many changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
These were really good but we didn't find them spicy at all. We marinated the wings in the sauce as suggested. For a potluck gathering, we baked the chicken ahead of time, then put the wings in the crock pot and poured the sauce on top of them. We kept them warm on low for several hours and they were excellent! The second time we made them, we added soy sauce and ginger to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This is a really good recipe that will allow an experienced cook to make subtle changes in the base flavor ingredients, as desired. Some ginger is a good idea. I made this exactly as described the first time, and there's plenty of sauce to handle 5 lbs. of wings, no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ranger Rick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Iowa, USA
Living In: Monticello, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Japanese Chicken Wings

See how to make tangy, sticky, delicious 5-star chicken wings.

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States