Thai Steamed Mussels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Made the recipe exactly. They were fabulous. One guest had never had mussels before and couldn't get enough of these. Very authentic Thai flavour. Loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I have enjoyed this type of dish in restaurants many times, and this recipe is just as good, if not better. I halved the recipe and followed it exactly, except that I used about half the amount of cilantro. I was afraid it would be too much, but in retrospect it probably would have been good either way. This dish MUST be served with a crunchy baguette to sop up the delicious broth! Mussels have always intimidated me for some reason, but this recipe reminded me how simple, easy, and delicious steamed mussels can be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dulce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Yum! Easy and delicious. The only change I'll make next time will be to use less cilantro or none at all - 2 cups is a lot and it over powers the rest of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarence, New York, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
i would probably use a little less coconut milk next time...but pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coronagirl0828

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, Maryland, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Good recipe. I added kaffir lime leaves and bruised lemongrass to give a bit more zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This is awesome! It was so quick and easy to make, and my daughter loved it. Be certain to get some artisan bread, as that was just as good to soak in the broth as the mussels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was absolutely delicious. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
My family's newest favorite! They at first balked at me steering away from our usual tomato based mussels....but now....Thai Mussels are all they want. If it's not spicy enough add more red curry paste. Cooking is a science...experiment...I don't know how people cannot like these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIALAW

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Good, but I found that the lime juice was a bit overpowering so I had to add more coconut milk the first time to balance the flavor. The second time I made it, I just cut back the lime juice and it was perfect for me. I use the live mussels sold at Costco (5lbs for $11.99) ! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Very good recipe, I would have given 5 stars, but I did modify a little... added a bit extra fish sauce, some more red curry, and used roughly half the amount of mussels. There were only two of us. I kept the sauce proportion the same after reading other reviews that said the extra sauce was great over rice or with bread; so I did make jasmine rice and it was delicious on the rice. It just needed a little something, something that the extra bit of fish sauce and curry paste gave it. But good flavors all in all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States