Thai Steamed Mussels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
So yummy! I just added a tiny bit more sugar and subbed lite coconut milk for the regular. It was so good there was nothing left but broth, which I think we both wanted to slurp down like soup! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssteinberg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Prep time was much less than 20 min for me. I think I found a new favorite quick inexpensive meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Richardson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I often order thai mussels in restaurants. This is a wonderful well matched recipe to those I love when dining out. My only addition is a dash of cayenne which doesn't make it hot just adds a bit of snap against the creamy coconut milk. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineMalf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Invermere, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Everyone loved them and they are so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I followed the recipe with exception of using frozen shelled raw mussels (added them to broth frozen, let them cook for about 15 minutes) and ginger powder. It still turned out delicious. The boyfriend liked it too, and he's pickier than most 3-year-olds. I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
As of right now, I see 3,040 "saves" and 61 reviews. If you've been thinking about making this, but have reservations about, perhaps, dealing with cleaning the mussels (like I did), just GO for it! I got 4(ish) pounds of mussels from the local grocery store, and did end up discarding quite a few of them that were open or cracked(maybe a third?) but scrubbed the closed ones with a toothbrush and pulled out the "beards", and we (*we* including a VERY hearty eater) had more than enough (including a good bit of crusty bread) for dinner. The sauce was perfect as written (ok, maybe a little extra red curry) and my aforementioned hearty eater used his soup spoon to finish the sauce/broth after his bread was used up. I do recommend watching the mussels as they're cooking, and as soon as they're all opened even just a little bit to remove from the heat. I think mine took maybe 3 minutes and were perfectly cooked. We love cilantro on anything/everything, and the amount in the recipe was great, but if you had any less or more, it would be quite all right. The balance of the other ingredients is absolutely perfect. This will go with/on chicken and rice next, and definitely mussels and/or clams again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I cooked this for my Thai boyfriend, I combined mussels and small prawns (they are sweeter than the big prawns) make sure you leave the heads as they add flavour to the broth. I had to add Thai chilli pepper, this is really just for my boyfriend. I tasted the broth before adding the chilli, and really it was tasty even without the chilli. Like the others have said you will want to have bread to soak the broth, we had no bread.. so my boyfriend just drank it. There was no broth left even in the serving bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
These mussels were amazing! I took another reviewer's suggestion and added crushed red chilies for heat, and I used fresh basil instead of cilantro (can't get cilantro in England). They were fab! I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Fantastic recipe! To really kick it up add 1 stalk of lemongrass, and 2 kafir lime leaves. Break the stalks and tear the leaves and throw them in. Better than anything you will ever have in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This sauce is awesome!!!!!! It's similar to the sauce I make for my Thai dishes. This is an easy recipe, the hardest part was sorting through the mussels. This is the first time I made mussels, I will experiment with other sauces the next time I make mussels but will definitely use this sauce again for more than mussels
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States