Thai Steamed Mussels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
my husband and i LOVE this dish. we make it whenever we can get our hands on mussels. he works in a restaurant, and has even contemplated recommending this to one of the chefs as a special. we usually add less wine, more garlic and surprisingly more fish sauce. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
These "Thai Steamed Mussels" were excellent! I made mine without the wine. Thank you MURINMOON for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I tried this recipe tonight with my wife, it was awesome! I made some minor edits but pretty much followed as is. I made sauce for 6 servings but mussels for 2. Served the excess sauce over jasmine rice. 1st I doubled the garlic, and fish sauce. I didn't have red Thai Curry Sauce so I substituted equal amount of chili garlic sauce, plus 2 tblsp of chopped fresh lemon grass and a 1/3 cup of chopped shallots. I put it all together as the recipe says and added about 3/4 cup of diced tomatoes right before adding the mussels. I may have preferred it little spicier but wife's not such a fan of the heat. Will do this again soon. It was a great alternative to your basic steamed mussels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DrewDaMan
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I uploaded a picture but it doesn't do this recipe justice. I put the mussels over rice noodles, paired it with a nice pinot gris and it was fantastic. After reading the other comments I decided to add a bit of red pepper flakes for some heat. Other then that I followed the recipe as is. When I make this again I would cook the mussels in the sauce but then thicken it up for the noodle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wekstaz
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Do not change this recipe. It is perfect! My husband clapped and gave a standing ovation. Just the right heat, just the right tang, just the right sweetness. Perfect flavors on so many levels. I will be making this often. Thank you to the author!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly, because I like to see what the original is suposed to taste like first. For me the Thai influence was unexpected but my husband and I loved it. Next time I will omit or lessen the fish sauce. I still rated a 5 because I think that is due to my personal tastes and not indicative of any fault in the recipe. Great Job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
We loved it! we used a red curry paste from a package which worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ckrey83
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I made this a few times. My family, friends, and I thought this was delicious! I also used frozen mussels because I couldn't find any fresh. It worked just fine. I also used more red curry paste. I served it with steamed white rice and it was perfect. If you want even more heat, add some Thai chilis! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckrey83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Delicious and the extra broth makes a great soup for leftovers! I sauteed the garlic beforehand, and added onions because I just always use the 2 together. Then I added everything else plus some chili pepper flakes and curry powder on top of the paste...I like spice! The lime however, I added near the end because it can make it to acidic if added too early in my opinion. I also let the broth cook for 10-15 minutes to really let the flavours come together. So yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States