Thai Spicy Basil Chicken Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Union, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Yummy! I'm a vegetarian who doesn't eat fish products--so I substituted fish sauce for soy sauce, and substituted oyster sauce for a mushroom stir-fry sauce I bought at an asian market. Instead of chicken, I added some delicious fried tofu. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Wonderful recipe! My favorite Thai resturant here in Atlanta taste EXACTLY the same as this recipe. I did modify one thing to get the same taste. I bought a small can of oysters to use just the juice instead of the fish sauce and oyster sauce. I moved to Idaho & mourned not being abe to get this food. Sure, the other Thaii resurants HAD Thai Basal Chickeken but NOT THE delious Thai Chili Resturant Thai Basal Chicken here in Atlanta. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This recipe had very genuine thai flavor. Instead of sugar I substituted a bit of honey and only used a drizzle of oil to cut back on the fat. I also used brown rice and added a few handfuls of sugar snap peas to increase the serving size without increasing the calories by much. Excellent recipe and I can't wait to share it with all of my friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This was totally worth the chopping (which really was not that much.) I hit our local Asian market for the ingredients, but I also saw that everything needed can also be found at the big-box grocery stores, too. Since we have kids, I omitted the serrano peppers and they cleaned their plates! And my hubby had thirds! That's a huge hit in our house!! I think we are going to try and do this with some kind of seafood next time. Great recipe - thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Delicious and tastes like it was served in a Thai restaurant. The only change I made was omitting the oyster sauce and did 3T of fish sauce. Also added about 1T of soy sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOCKLEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Excellent! Took another reviewers advice and added 2 T of soy sauce and added extra chili peppers - we like it hot. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Excellent dish! I've never cooked with fish sauce or oyster sauce before and their pungent smells on their own had me doubting whether the rice dish would turn out okay. It was fabulous! I added the cilantro and cucumber. My husband would have liked a little more spice or "kick" to it. It was not spicy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was a great recipe! I love it with shrimp and beef too!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emily448
Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Excellent recipe! i couldnt find any thai basil so i just used the one i could find..so fragrant!! also, i didnt have serrano peppers on hand, so used chopped jalapenos. i added some chili sauce (siracha) to the sauce and some more later. also, i didn't have a red pepper so just used green. The blend of flavors was deelicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States