Thai Spicy Basil Chicken Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I am a connoisseur of Thai Basil Chicken dishes, and this recipe is my favorite with a few modifications. I added 2 tblsp soy sauce to the oil/pepper/garlic after frying a bit. You should also add the fish/oyster sauce at this point before adding the other ingredients or it won't absorb evenly into the food - you'll probably get some bites that taste fishy. I also halved the oyster and fish sauce since the smell was...well..terrifying. With that amount it added perfectly to the flavor but wasn't a noticeable/dominant taste at all (no one would know it is in there). It's important to use fresh garlic. I also prefer to chop the chicken after slicing (or use ground chicken) so it absorbs more of the flavor. The hardest thing about this recipe is finding the Thai basil (different from Italian), I found it in an Asian market. You can substitute stir fry or wide rice noodles for the rice if you prefer. If you use wide rice noodles, it's best to chop them up a bit so they absorb the flavor. Wonderful recipe - I'm so excited I found it! This will be a weekly recipe in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Yummy! I'm a vegetarian who doesn't eat fish products--so I substituted fish sauce for soy sauce, and substituted oyster sauce for a mushroom stir-fry sauce I bought at an asian market. Instead of chicken, I added some delicious fried tofu. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Casey_27
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This is a great recipe. Here are my recommended changes: 1) Use 4 to 8 Thai "bird's eye" chili peppers instead of serranos. 2) Add the bell pepper when the chicken and onion are nearly done cooking so it won't overcook. 3) You can change the flavor of this dish a lot depending on when you add the fish/oyster sauce. Add it before the chicken and it will lose most of its characteristic Thai flavor. Add it a couple minutes after the chicken and you will keep some of the fishy Thai flavor. Or, add it with the rice as instructed here and you retain a lot of the fishy flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I did what one reviewer suggested and added the fish sauce and oyster sauce in the oil for a bit before adding the chicken. This is an old trick my mom uses to take the strong fish smell out of the fish sauce. I also had to add two extra cups of rice since it was quite wet. I'll have to try seafood or beef next time. Excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This recipe had very genuine thai flavor. Instead of sugar I substituted a bit of honey and only used a drizzle of oil to cut back on the fat. I also used brown rice and added a few handfuls of sugar snap peas to increase the serving size without increasing the calories by much. Excellent recipe and I can't wait to share it with all of my friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
As is, this recipes is just so-so. With a few modifications, it can be great! I use soy sauce instead of oyster sauce and I add a few extra tablespoons of it - but that's just a personal choice. What makes a HUGE difference is using real Thai chilis instead of serrano peppers. I personally use five chilis, but I like it REALLY hot so normal people may want to use 2 or 3. I also cut the oil in half, added 1/4 tsp of salt, and added sliced shitake mushrooms. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This recipe was easy to make and it was very tasty. It is close to the dish I usually order at the Thai restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Monterey Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
For a healthier version, I cut the oil in half and use olive oil and brown rice instead. I also use a package of firm tofu in the mix. Additionally, I'll use extra vegetables such as mushrooms, tomatoes, and bean sprouts in the final phase of cooking. Garnish with lime and a side of Sambal and this dish is set!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was really delicious. I didn't have fresh basil so I used dried. I also used one tiny Thai bird chili pepper instead of the serrano peppers and it was plenty spicy for us. I also used ground turkey instead of chicken. Came out exceptionally good! The oyster sauce and fish sauce really make it, and the cilantro as a finishing touch was sublime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
My family loved this recipe! I could not find sweet Thai basil so I just used the Italian kind. Also I will use less oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States