Thai Spicy Basil Chicken Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This is the first Thai recipe I have tried that was simple and really tasted authentically Thai and not like an American trying to make Thai food. It was a big hit. 2 modifications I used that the reviewers suggest: 1/2 the peanut oil and add the oyster sauce mix and stir before adding the chicken and veggies instead of after. For vegetarians, tofu would be a simple substitution for chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I did what one reviewer suggested and added the fish sauce and oyster sauce in the oil for a bit before adding the chicken. This is an old trick my mom uses to take the strong fish smell out of the fish sauce. I also had to add two extra cups of rice since it was quite wet. I'll have to try seafood or beef next time. Excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
My family loved this recipe! I could not find sweet Thai basil so I just used the Italian kind. Also I will use less oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Excellent recipe! i couldnt find any thai basil so i just used the one i could find..so fragrant!! also, i didnt have serrano peppers on hand, so used chopped jalapenos. i added some chili sauce (siracha) to the sauce and some more later. also, i didn't have a red pepper so just used green. The blend of flavors was deelicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Great receipe...we love it! Saves us a trip to eat out when we crave Thai.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwolfe11

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nemo, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was a great recipe! I love it with shrimp and beef too!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emily448
Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Excellent dish! I've never cooked with fish sauce or oyster sauce before and their pungent smells on their own had me doubting whether the rice dish would turn out okay. It was fabulous! I added the cilantro and cucumber. My husband would have liked a little more spice or "kick" to it. It was not spicy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Delicious and tastes like it was served in a Thai restaurant. The only change I made was omitting the oyster sauce and did 3T of fish sauce. Also added about 1T of soy sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOCKLEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This was totally worth the chopping (which really was not that much.) I hit our local Asian market for the ingredients, but I also saw that everything needed can also be found at the big-box grocery stores, too. Since we have kids, I omitted the serrano peppers and they cleaned their plates! And my hubby had thirds! That's a huge hit in our house!! I think we are going to try and do this with some kind of seafood next time. Great recipe - thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This recipe had very genuine thai flavor. Instead of sugar I substituted a bit of honey and only used a drizzle of oil to cut back on the fat. I also used brown rice and added a few handfuls of sugar snap peas to increase the serving size without increasing the calories by much. Excellent recipe and I can't wait to share it with all of my friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States