Thai Spicy Basil Chicken Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I made it with prawns instead of chicken, and no spicy peppers, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
The oyster sauce in this recipe was overwhelming and made it far sweeter than the recipe we are used to at our local Thai place. Next time, I will probably eliminate the oyster sauce and replace it with 2 Tbls soy sauce as another reviewer suggested. I will also cut the oil by at least half, finely chop/dice the chicken, and increase the basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I cooked this dish and it was very bland, even though I added more spicy ingredients than it said to. I have ordered this dish many times in Thai restaurants and it has never come out as bad as this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Yum. Like others mentioned, I cut down the oil by half- it was more than enough. It could definitely use a tablespoon of soy sauce, or to taste. The Thai Basil is important to use instead of Italian (common) basil. We found ours at an Asian grocery, along with the fish and oyster sauces. The fishy smell of the sauces goes away as you stir-fry, so don't worry about it. I was a little freaked out about it at first, and everything was fine. Our Fav Thai restaurant recently burned down :( and this was my husband's favorite dish from there. It's very similar to the restaurant's dish. I think there is still something missing though but I can't put my finger on what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie Martin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Next time I will use a little less of the peanut oil but overall this is an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Oven Mitts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This recipe is very similar to a dish my husband and I had at King and I Thai, a restaurant in Minneapolis. There, our waitress recommended adding fried eggs to the dish; it's the way their cook serves the staff in the kitchen. She served them over top of the rice with soft yolks. We love the dish this way and it allows to leave out the chicken for a vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
for such a simple recipe this is fantastic. Don't skimp on the Thai basil. I agree though it's not especially "spicy"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
hmm. i've made this before, using a very similar recipe, and LOVED it but something was missing in this. it was good, but not sure it was worth all the prep work. not sure why the rice needs to be chilled first b/c the end result is just like i took the chicken mixture and mixed it with jasmine rice that i'd just cooked - in other words, there's nothing "fried ricey" about it, imo. maybe it needed more spice? i used chile paste instead of serrano peppers, but i've done that before and it was great... i'll keep playing with the leftovers & see if i can find the "missing" ingredient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I was searching for recipes to use up some of the thai basil from my garden and I found this one. It is an excellent dish with amazing flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This recipe is awesome. the only changes that I made was that instead of regular onion I make it with green onions. I have made this recipe at least five times now. Thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States