Thai Spicy Basil Chicken Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I cooked this dish and it was very bland, even though I added more spicy ingredients than it said to. I have ordered this dish many times in Thai restaurants and it has never come out as bad as this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Yum. Like others mentioned, I cut down the oil by half- it was more than enough. It could definitely use a tablespoon of soy sauce, or to taste. The Thai Basil is important to use instead of Italian (common) basil. We found ours at an Asian grocery, along with the fish and oyster sauces. The fishy smell of the sauces goes away as you stir-fry, so don't worry about it. I was a little freaked out about it at first, and everything was fine. Our Fav Thai restaurant recently burned down :( and this was my husband's favorite dish from there. It's very similar to the restaurant's dish. I think there is still something missing though but I can't put my finger on what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Next time I will use a little less of the peanut oil but overall this is an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Oven Mitts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This recipe is very similar to a dish my husband and I had at King and I Thai, a restaurant in Minneapolis. There, our waitress recommended adding fried eggs to the dish; it's the way their cook serves the staff in the kitchen. She served them over top of the rice with soft yolks. We love the dish this way and it allows to leave out the chicken for a vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
for such a simple recipe this is fantastic. Don't skimp on the Thai basil. I agree though it's not especially "spicy"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
hmm. i've made this before, using a very similar recipe, and LOVED it but something was missing in this. it was good, but not sure it was worth all the prep work. not sure why the rice needs to be chilled first b/c the end result is just like i took the chicken mixture and mixed it with jasmine rice that i'd just cooked - in other words, there's nothing "fried ricey" about it, imo. maybe it needed more spice? i used chile paste instead of serrano peppers, but i've done that before and it was great... i'll keep playing with the leftovers & see if i can find the "missing" ingredient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I was searching for recipes to use up some of the thai basil from my garden and I found this one. It is an excellent dish with amazing flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This recipe is awesome. the only changes that I made was that instead of regular onion I make it with green onions. I have made this recipe at least five times now. Thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This is the first Thai recipe I have tried that was simple and really tasted authentically Thai and not like an American trying to make Thai food. It was a big hit. 2 modifications I used that the reviewers suggest: 1/2 the peanut oil and add the oyster sauce mix and stir before adding the chicken and veggies instead of after. For vegetarians, tofu would be a simple substitution for chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I did what one reviewer suggested and added the fish sauce and oyster sauce in the oil for a bit before adding the chicken. This is an old trick my mom uses to take the strong fish smell out of the fish sauce. I also had to add two extra cups of rice since it was quite wet. I'll have to try seafood or beef next time. Excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States