Thai Spicy Basil Chicken Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Delicious! Only change was using Sriacha sauce instead of serrano peppers (didn't have any) and adding just a touch of soy sauce at the end. Will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
My family loved this!!! And we are pretty harsh food critics.....I did modify as a few of the reviewers suggested. I added two Tablspn of soy sauce and added the sauce to the wok before the meat. I used the Thai chili peppers instead of the serrano and I did half chicken and half shrimp. I will use a little less oil next time. It seemed a tad much. Also, hunan chili sauce is a great addition if you want to add more spice....but careful, chili sauce is hot so add a very small amount to start!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Siobhan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Brilliant - quick - Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Good recipe! I too could only find regular basil,but it still tasted really good! I used lee kum kee sriracha chili sauce instead of peppers, about 1 tsp is equal to one chili, and really got an authentic thai spiciness - all I could find were jalapeno peppers, and that just wasn't going to cut it! Thanks for the yummy recipe - I went traveling in South East Asia, and this really took me back! Trust me, top with the fresh cucumbers, it makes it really authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FreshBaked

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Everyone loved this!! I did have Thai basil (yum!)...so the only change I had to make was to use canola oil instead of peanut oil. Will make again...maybe with shrimp?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I substituted the chicken with shrimp and followed the rest of the recipe without any deviation and it was a smash hit. Easy to follow directions and simple recipe is a win win for me. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Absolutely wonderful! So delicious and good! I added celery and shredded carrots to mine to add a little more vegetables - it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Amazing. My husband had plans to go out for dinner with a friend and was actually wishing he wasn't going out when he smelled and tasted this dish as I dished it out for the kids. I couldn't find oyster sauce at the market, so used 1 tbsp red curry paste and 1tsp sesame oil instead. I will keep looking for oyster sauce and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Loved it! Made it without chicken, but kept the recipe the same. I also scrambled an egg before starting this recipe, took it out and added it back in right before adding the basil. Thai basil is completely different from regular basil- completely worth finding (readily available in Asian stores). I added sliced mushrooms, frozen peas, and chopped fresh spinach. Garnished with green onions. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I made this wonderful fried rice for my family and it was a GREAT RECIPE!!! I will be making it again...and again...and again! I altered the recipe (slightly): I used ORGANIC JASMINE BROWN RICE (which gave it a delicious nutty flavor!) I added more veggies then it called for (green beans, carrots, mushrooms and 3 different colored bell peppers). I didn't add the chicken as I grilled and served on the side. I didn't have Thai basil, so I used regular basil instead. My family loved it and we ate it for several meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmacias121704

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yreka, California, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States