Thai Spicy Basil Chicken Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
We love this and make it quite a bit. It is a staple dish for us these days. It has enough heat for the die-hards and yet even wimps like me can enjoy it!TONS of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly - I wasn't crazy about it. The fish sauce gave it an unpleasant aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
We eat Thai food every week, and this did not disappoint! Added a bit of chili oil in with the peanut oil and a bit of soy to the fish/oyster. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
It was awesome to make one of my favorite restaurant dishes and have it turn out succesfully - and for much cheaper cost! This will become a regular event at my house. My only problem was that my grocery store didn't have serrano or thai chili peppers, so I bought dried arbol peppers from the mexi aisle. Used 10 that I had soaked in water and chopped up, but it wasn't spicy enough so I added a tsp of korean chili paste. Next time I will try soaking the peppers in the oil that I fry with so that I do not lose any of the heat of the pepper to the water. Also, to add some healthy stuff I added a bag of stir fry veggies from the produce aisle - Fantastic! Just a note, if you are like me and do not have a wok - do not try to increase amount of rice - my pan didn't really fry the rice like it should have so it was a little greasy feeling, I think that it would have been okay if I had a larger heat surface like the wok. That being said, I did reduce the amount of oil, 1/4 cup fine with the veggies since as they cook they add their own liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was really delicious. I didn't have fresh basil so I used dried. I also used one tiny Thai bird chili pepper instead of the serrano peppers and it was plenty spicy for us. I also used ground turkey instead of chicken. Came out exceptionally good! The oyster sauce and fish sauce really make it, and the cilantro as a finishing touch was sublime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I lament not being able to find Thai Basil in Iowa in the winter, but other than that I followed the directions implicitly. Awesome flavor and just the right amount of heat. I will definitely do this again (maybe with a wee hint of curry. Hmmmm).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
One of my very favorite recipes. The type of basil is important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trufant, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Delicious! Only change was using Sriacha sauce instead of serrano peppers (didn't have any) and adding just a touch of soy sauce at the end. Will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
My family loved this!!! And we are pretty harsh food critics.....I did modify as a few of the reviewers suggested. I added two Tablspn of soy sauce and added the sauce to the wok before the meat. I used the Thai chili peppers instead of the serrano and I did half chicken and half shrimp. I will use a little less oil next time. It seemed a tad much. Also, hunan chili sauce is a great addition if you want to add more spice....but careful, chili sauce is hot so add a very small amount to start!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Siobhan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States