Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This is an excellent recipe Ned and altho due to sudden downpours we were unable to cook them on the grill and used the grill pan on top of the stove instead. Everyone raved over the marinade altho next time I plan on upping the amount of curry paste as I would like it with a bit more heat. Thanks so much Ned and there will be a next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
WOW! We loved this shrimp! The spice from the curry paste was just right for us. My husband cooked this on a screaming hot griddle on the grill so some of the marinade got alittle carmelized. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Keep serving number at 8 - 1 pound shrimp fed 2 people for one dinner. Other notes: Substitute about 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper for the curry paste. Add a dash of oil (used sesame oil). Jason really likes the lemon flavor and the spice level is just right. Excellent reviews from the hubby! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Very good for a quick meal. Didn't give it 5 stars because it seemed to be lacking some 'depth'. Perhaps next time I will add ginger as someone else had recommended or perhaps some coconut milk. Didn't have lemons, so I used lime, did have green curry paste which gave it a bit of a kick. I agree with another reviewer, you cannot interchange curry powder and curry paste and expect similar results. They are two very different ingredients. And for those who do not think they like curry (as I had always said) there are many different kinds of curry. I realized I do not like the yellow, Indian flavor, but do like the Thai red and green. Be adventerous and try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Absolutely delicious! Added 2 t. minced fresh ginger...was a nice touch. After pouring out about half the marinade, I sauteed the mixture in a bit of vegetable oil, like a stir fry. (I don't have a grill pan and we didn't want to fire up the charcoal grill.) Will definitely add this to our regular rotation of Asian recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTGERCAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I left the curry out just because I'm not a big fan of curry. I added a little oil to the marinade. This dish was very good. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Love it. Love it. Love it. My filipina girlfriend loves when i get recipes from that side of the world (i tend to stick to more american styles), so when i made this as a suprise, she couldn't stop saying how great it was. Serve it over rice.. after boiling the marinade, if you have some left over drizzle it on the rice. It's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeddyB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Fantastic, best shrimp marinade on the site, it could use a little spice kick, if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yankees251

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newtown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This was very tasty. I wasn't able to marinade the shrimp nearly long enough (about 10 min.), but it still turned out super-tasty. I also used curry powder, as I didn't have the paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmasMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I'm reviewing the marinade since I used a Basa Fillet (grabbing what was available). I also used curry powder & a small dab of Olive Oil, and instead of Dijon I used Garlic/Ginger paste. I put the Basa fillet on some foil like a bowl & marinated it, & put it on the BBQ - the fillet was basically boiling in the marinade on the BBQ. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Thai Shrimp Spirals

This delicious appetizer is crunchy and full of flavor.

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

The tangy marinade makes the shrimp moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States