Thai Shrimp, Chicken, Grapefruit, and Coconut Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I omitted the chicken breast and red chile pepper; added 1 large red bell pepper and 1 jalapeno on hand--which added nice color interest. The flavors melded well--although I would have liked more dressing to allow people to serve themselves. This recipe definitely served 6 people ample helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
It's a good idea but it would need some adjustments. It was way too acidic. I would use less lime juice and some salt to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This is a keeper for us. We used chinese cabbage instead of iceburg, pomelo instead of grapefruit (milder and firmer), and offered toasted crushed ramen noodles, chopped peanuts and pepper flakes as toppings. Yum! I think next time I'll let it sit overnight to let the flavors come out more and and try toasting the coconut first. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
My husband is hard to please and he really loved thid recipe. I t was easy to make and has a tropical taste even in th winter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Well, there are a lot of different flavors going on here. The one thing that I thought kind of sent the flavor balance over the edge was the grapefruit. I also thought the dressing could've used a little something more. It was a good starting-off point. With a few tweeks, I would make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I dont like canned shrimp, so used large fresh/frozen prawn meat(large shrimp called prawns in oz). Cooked before using & chopped .up into pieces the same size as the chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
really good salad - you really have to be in to thai food to appreciate all the different flavors and texture combos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Gladys

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
As I was making this dish, I really started to wonder how it was going to work out - it just seemed like so many different flavours to be adding into one bowl, but it worked out really well and we all loved it. I served it with coconut rice. It has a very refreshing flavour from the mint and the lime. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States