Thai Shrimp Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Sounds like a great recipe, I can’t wait to try it! I make Shrimp Burgers with a similar recipe which include some lime zest. I pan fried them in a little garlic butter and served them on a toasted bun with lettuce, tomato and avocado…..what a hit!! The good news-bad news is that you have to prepare and eat them in short order. They are good cold and sort of OK when nuked. Best when hot and sizzling. While cruising the net, I came across Chef Big Shake’s Original Shrimp Burgers from www.TheQuickShipWarehouse.com . They come frozen and have a year shelf life. Pretty easy to prepare and quite good which makes it nice when the spirit moves you. After cooking, we squeeze a little fresh lime on them and add the avocado. Voilà!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Great and simple recipe. I just threw everything in the processor and had them ready in about a minute. They are delicate, so I cooked them on the stovetop rather than the grill. They work without the bread as well - served like a crabcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Wow, are these good! I rarely make repeats, but I've been making these almost weekly since I found the recipe. There is a lot of chopping and prep work, which I try to do in advance; however, the burgers are easy to make, and they taste so clean, fresh and healthy! I haven't fired up the grill for them but have been baking them in my toaster oven instead. I've also morphed these into meatballs and served them over shredded sauteed cabbage and called it Asian Spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
wow! very good. I baked these off for a few minutes before grilling. Helped them stay together better. Great flavors that blend nicely together. will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
I have made these 3 times in the last 2 weeks!! I think they are fabulous and so did everyone I served. Mine held together perfectly and have a wonderful "burger" texture~ and a wonderful subtle flavor. I added a bit more jalapeno for more "bite". I also made a thai satay sause to serve with the burgers. I served cous-cous made with canned lite coconut juice and pine nuts as well as the slaw. Pickles, onions,etc. I shall keep this reciped FOREVER. May I suggest also trying Salmon Burgers. FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I was really scared as I was making this because it looks really strange, but it tastes great. I added in a bit more seasoned bread crumbs and omitted the jalaps, but I think they need them (I was just worried it would be too spicy w/ them). My nine year old daughter ate this as well. We cooked these on a gas grill. The marks on it were beautiful and they held together perfectly. I didn't have any cabbage, so I just served them w/ lettuce and spicy mustard and bbq sauce. Next time I will add more peanut sauce to the mixture because I could hardly taste it...then I will use the slaw mixture as well. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
This was very good. Made small patties like you would for falafel and cooked it on my GF type grill. I did not have problems with it falling apart. I used seasoned bread crumbs and added some asian chili garlic sauce. Did not split the pitas but used the pocket. Added a peanut dressing to the slaw and tossed in a few peanuts as well. The shrimp paste is a bit sticky but this was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I made this recipe and it was fantastic. When I was preparing it, my boyfriend thought it looked unappetizing, and was going to make something else. He was glad I made him try it. I used broccoli slaw and it turned out great. If it is packed well, it stays together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I can't say enough about how fantastic these are! Brilliant! I used my Kitchenaid meat grinder to grind all of the shrimp, which made it very painless. I used a bit more cilantro than called for, and added a little light mayonnaise to the slaw rather than oil to make it "creamier". I served it with fresh pita bread from a recipe on this site - so easy. I was worried about the burger falling apart so I added some extra breadcrumbs, but it actually stayed together really well, and the whole concoction just tasted so fresh and wonderful. We re-heated two of them to eat the next day, and it tasted just as good as the day before. I can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
these are AMAZING. 1) I used my kitchenaid food grinder for all of the shrimp and it worked beautifully 2) I didn't use as much cilantro, because... i really hate cilantro. 3) I used half a jalapeno because the peanut sauce I use is so spicy. 4) I also served them inside the pita, with the slaw stuffed in with them. 5) I cooked them in a frying pan on the stove. If you do this, be careful! They burn really easily. I learned that if you cook them on medium heat it takes a little longer but they won't burn so quickly. All in all, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Thai Shrimp Spirals

This delicious appetizer is crunchy and full of flavor.

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States