Thai Shrimp Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I can't say enough about how fantastic these are! Brilliant! I used my Kitchenaid meat grinder to grind all of the shrimp, which made it very painless. I used a bit more cilantro than called for, and added a little light mayonnaise to the slaw rather than oil to make it "creamier". I served it with fresh pita bread from a recipe on this site - so easy. I was worried about the burger falling apart so I added some extra breadcrumbs, but it actually stayed together really well, and the whole concoction just tasted so fresh and wonderful. We re-heated two of them to eat the next day, and it tasted just as good as the day before. I can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
I have made these 3 times in the last 2 weeks!! I think they are fabulous and so did everyone I served. Mine held together perfectly and have a wonderful "burger" texture~ and a wonderful subtle flavor. I added a bit more jalapeno for more "bite". I also made a thai satay sause to serve with the burgers. I served cous-cous made with canned lite coconut juice and pine nuts as well as the slaw. Pickles, onions,etc. I shall keep this reciped FOREVER. May I suggest also trying Salmon Burgers. FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
This was very good. Made small patties like you would for falafel and cooked it on my GF type grill. I did not have problems with it falling apart. I used seasoned bread crumbs and added some asian chili garlic sauce. Did not split the pitas but used the pocket. Added a peanut dressing to the slaw and tossed in a few peanuts as well. The shrimp paste is a bit sticky but this was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
Flavors were great, but the burgers didn't hold together at all, so for a wrap filler it's OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Great and simple recipe. I just threw everything in the processor and had them ready in about a minute. They are delicate, so I cooked them on the stovetop rather than the grill. They work without the bread as well - served like a crabcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
these are AMAZING. 1) I used my kitchenaid food grinder for all of the shrimp and it worked beautifully 2) I didn't use as much cilantro, because... i really hate cilantro. 3) I used half a jalapeno because the peanut sauce I use is so spicy. 4) I also served them inside the pita, with the slaw stuffed in with them. 5) I cooked them in a frying pan on the stove. If you do this, be careful! They burn really easily. I learned that if you cook them on medium heat it takes a little longer but they won't burn so quickly. All in all, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Wow, are these good! I rarely make repeats, but I've been making these almost weekly since I found the recipe. There is a lot of chopping and prep work, which I try to do in advance; however, the burgers are easy to make, and they taste so clean, fresh and healthy! I haven't fired up the grill for them but have been baking them in my toaster oven instead. I've also morphed these into meatballs and served them over shredded sauteed cabbage and called it Asian Spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
OK, here it is. First I used cooked shrimp, since that is what I had on hand. Second, if you grill these do it on a piece of foil. They stick crazy bad and you can not flip them. Now with that said... After I managed to salavge some parts of each burger (half remained stuck to grill) and finish grilling on foil. They actually tasted pretty good. So maybe my grilling problem had to do with using cooked shrimp, however they still had good flavor. Oh, yea.. make the slaw it is wonderful! I used the Rainbow salad slaw mix for extra color and crunch. About 1/2 of my guests thought that this was a side dish on its own and ate it without the burger. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Burgart-Schrader

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I made this recipe and it was fantastic. When I was preparing it, my boyfriend thought it looked unappetizing, and was going to make something else. He was glad I made him try it. I used broccoli slaw and it turned out great. If it is packed well, it stays together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
They weren't terrible but they weren't great to me either. The flavors are really great together but I didn't like the texture of the burger very well. I think it would taste better to just cook the shrimp in the seasonings rather than ground up the shrimp into a burger like that. Maybe I will try this recipe again sometime but with ground turkey instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Thai Shrimp Spirals

This delicious appetizer is crunchy and full of flavor.

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States