Thai Red Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by VIBHER
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This tasted much better than it looked. I added some snow peas for color. Although I added double curry paste we still didn't have enough heat for our taste. Before we added 4 thai peppers to it for extra heat the flavor was excellent. After the thai peppers it had some kick. What was good though even though it wasn't all that spicy someone who does not like it all spicy and burning will enjoy it. Wife says this one is a keeper and I agree with her. Good job on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIBHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I set out to make this and it turned out great! Only thing is that I thought I had Thai red curry paste and it was in fact, Thai red chili paste...given that I put in 2T of it along with 2T of powdered curry. My next flub was at the store I somehow got creme de coconut rather than 'milk'. (don't know what was going on that day) and it is thick but mixed a small amount of water to the cornstarch and somehow this was absolutely delicious! Great texture and visual. thanks, maybe it will try it again as written, but maybe not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
LOVED IT. I doubled curry paste and added cumin seasoning and a bit of salt. I also added some yogurt on top at the end. Very yummy. Will definitely be making again. I also couldnt find the LITE coconut milk - it was WAY rich, so I'd say definitely find the LITE if you can. If not, use 1/2 reg milk and half coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita Abner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
The recipe is okay as is, but I made a few adjustments for more flavor. As recommended by others, I doubled the curry paste. I also added the juice of 1 lime, 1/2 teaspoon of coriander, 2 tablespoons fish sauce (many groceries have this in Asian section), fresh minced garlic clove, and 2 teaspoons sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
329 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Definitely restaurant quality! But don't be fooled by earlier posts: 1 Tbsp is plenty of curry paste, if you're using the kind of paste I use! You might want to start less if you are sensitve to spicy foods. I recommend that you stir curry paste and 2 Tablespoons corn starch with a little bit of the coconut milk in separate dish, add to cooking vegetables and chicken, then combine the rest of the can of coconut milk at the end to make it easier to stir in a wok. I followed the suggestions in other reviews and added juice of 1 lime, fresh garlic, 1 tablespoon fish sauce, plus added minced/grated ginger, and plenty of black pepper and salt. I cooked the minced garlic in the oil for 1 minute before adding the chicken. Extra cilantro helps the flavor, too. It was fabulous with rice! A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I followed the adjustments of another user ( double the curry paste,juice of 1 lime, 1/2 teaspoon of coriander, 2 tablespoons fish sauce, fresh minced garlic clove, and 2 teaspoons sugar.) While it tasted good, I thought it still was not spicy enough to be 'authentic.' Next time I will add in some chile paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
Really, really good - it tasted like what you would order in a Thai restaurant. I definitely doubled the red curry paste because I enjoy spicy food. I also couldn't find 'light' coconut milk, so I used regular - I will try try to find 'lite'going forward because it made it richer than normal. Yummy, and I will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
deeeelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARRIONCROW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Wonderful! I made this for the first time and LOVED IT! I bought mild red curry paste which was very mild... hardly even a bite. So I add a hot red pepper after removing seeds and slicing it open. I through it in with the coconut milk step and removed it before serving. It gave the dish a bit more kick. I highly recommend this recipe. Try it even if you have never cooked with curry before... this was my first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DancingMogs
Living In: Williston, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This was delicious. I like spicy so I tripled the red curry paste and because I also love cilanto, I dumpted lots in there. Great recipe. I give it full marks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States