Thai Red Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I read all the reviews and doubled the curry paste, but something was still missing from the dish. I'm more of a minimalist, and love the simplicity of having just the veggies, but some minced garlic in with the chicken and coriander and red pepper flakes added with the red curry paste fixed it all up! Served it over jasmine rice, and it rivaled our favorite Thai place. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Social Circle, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Was very good but needed spices added
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Meh.... nothing special. Woefully lacking in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Bromley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yerington, Nevada, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Almost right. As others had mentioned, a little bit of peanut butter makes all the difference. I used a tablespoon of unsweetened, unsalted organic peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I really wanted to make a good red curry but after reading some of the reviews on this recipe and noticing something not so authentic like cornstarch in the ingredients I decided to do some research. I made something that was still similar to this recipe: 1/2 yellow pepper, 1/2 red pepper both thinly slice, one carrot thinly sliced, 3 tbsp of red curry paste, 1 can coconut mild, 2 1/2 tbsp fish sauce, 1 tbsp lime juice, 2 chicken breast sliced thinly, 1 cup bean sprouts, 10 snow pea shoots, and 1/4 cup cilantro. So you can see it was similar but much more authentic and the flavours were amazing. I probably shouldn't even be rating this recipe seen as I didn't really follow it through but I wanted to share with everyone what I did and let you all know I was so impressed with the flavours. I must thank this recipe for giving me the basic iddea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberC2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I added extra curry paste, as well as turmeric, coriander, salt, sriracha, and chili paste. I would skip the cilantro next time though, and I would skip the lime that I added next time too. The cilantro and lime seemed to go against the flavors of the coconut milk. With the extra rice that I made to go with it, I added coconut milk, sugar, and corn starch to make dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
It was a good started recipe but as is was not the best. Made it per the recipe the first time and it needed more flavor. I used whatever veggies I had left over in the fridge, garlic, fish sauce, and more red curry paste. I left out the cornstarch as it was thick enough for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Seriously though, this recipe could be really good but currently feels like a rough draft (who forgets salt?) If you double the curry paste, toss in a generous amount of fresh basil and a bit of salt it is perhaps 3 stars (an average meal). For those that don't have "light" coconut milk, you can use coconut cream and omit the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
BLAH!! ! This curry is missing spices. Cumin, cayenne, ginger, garlic, salt, thai basil, a touch of lime and brown sugar. I just followed the directions and was so disappointed. If you like bland foods don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Excellent. I added the juice of one lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States