Thai Red Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Alot of the reviews were very helpful, I kinda just mixed and matched to what I thought would taste good. Used sesame oil, cooked a few cloves of garlic and a piece of ginger in the oil before adding the chicken. added potatoes/peanuts/peanut butter/fish sauece. couldn't find any coriander so added a little bit of store bought curry mix in. cooked chicken and onions for a few minutes before adding the rest of the veggies in and then let the whole simmer for 10-20 minutes on low heat. great great recipe, have been trying out a few recipes over the past few weeks and this is def the best so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This was only okay. Edible, but nothing to rave about. My kid and hubby wouldn't really eat it -- too spicy for them (and I only used 1 tbsp of curry.) I added peanut butter as someone suggested -- made the dish tan colored instead of pink or red. I also added coriander as someone suggested. Just wasn't a real "wow' factor and didn't really taste like red curries we get in thai or indian restaurants. Probably won't try again, but will try another curry recipe. I'm determined to find one we love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Made this recipe last night never having made curry before. I had read the reviews first so I made it with 2 tbsp of fish sauce, 1 lime, and a couple dollops of peanut butter and upped the curry paste to 3 tbsp. I tasted it and it still wasn't spicy, I ended up adding at least 5 tbsp of curry paste along with about 2 tbsp of red pepper flakes and it was just barely hot. I'm used to eating curry that makes my eyes water! It was good but next time I'll know not to be stingy with the spices. Definitely going to make it again, my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This was just ok. Not enough flavor for me, unfortunately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chagyrlchicky
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
There's a little mom and pop place in Dallas, Tx called "Tukta Thai" and they have the best red curry chicken. I use that as a basis for making my own. Instead of using olive oil, use sesame oil and it does not hurt to gently sprinkle some salt and pepper on the chicken. For the veggies I used FRESH green beans, zucchini, carrots, and red or green bell peppers. The missing ingredient here are bamboo shoots. It is a must it makes all the difference. I added fish sauce and 2 tablespoons of sugar. If you like spicy just add pepper flakes and cayenne pepper to taste. Also, i added like 3 tablespoons of the curry paste. I have been playing with the recipe and it finally taste like the one from the restaurant, my hubby was in love. Personally there really is NO need for the cornstarch. End result will be 5 STARS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chagyrlchicky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This was the first time I've tried cooking Thai food. It turned out exactly how I've had this same dish at restaurants! My family and I loved it and plan on making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I agree with many of the others that this recipe is pretty good but a little bland. I decided to first simmer some onion with garlic and cook the chicken in that with salt and pepper before adding it to the curry and coconut milk. Like others, I at least doubled the curry paste. I used jalepeno peppers instead of bell and added snow peas instead of zucchini. Also, because others suggested lime juice, I added lemon juice (didn't have lime juice) and finally added quite a bit of basil. After these additions, it was very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This turned out to be so good... :-) Although I did add 7-8 lime leaves and some chopped lemongrass to the oil just before adding the chicken and the veggies. Also I did not find Coconut Milk and used Lite Coconut cream, diluted with water and skipped the cornstarch.. Yum with steamed Jasmine rice.. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Very bland (at least for my tastes) even going with the comments-recommended 2Tbsp, next time I'll taste and check and probably end up more around 4Tbsp. I added a chopped potato, a pinch of garlic, a spoonful of peanut butter, and put it over rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I like red curries, and I like easy recipes, so I wanted to like this. Unfortunately, we were bored to tears with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States