Thai Red Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
more curry a lot more curry- could be the paste I used from whole food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaelc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I made this last night and after following the recipe to the letter, needed to doctor it up at the end. It was quite bland and as others noted, was lacking "something." Even after adding more of the red curry paste, a little more salt, cayenne to spice it up, I couldn't determine what that missing something was. My local favorite Thai restaurant is what inspired me to make this at home and I have decided it needs fresh lime juice and more cayenne. A good basic recipe from which to start though, so thank you! I was the picky eater, everyone else enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Shaffer LaMania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I made this the last 2 nights! I followed the recipe to a tee the first night. I agree with some of the comments that it wasn't spicy enough (I usually eat my Thai at level 3 and this was barely a 1). Also, it didn't have enough coconut milk, so I did the following: 1) doubled the coconut milk 2) tripled the red curry paste 3) added 4 Tablespoons of red chili paste (to add heat) 4) added 2 Tablespoons of minced garlic 5) ...and added 2 Tablespoons of "fish and meat" sauce. This is thick like an A1 almost, but added great flavor. It was amazing!!! I served it over jasmine rice and was perfect, so now I'll be having Thai weekly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Did everything recipe and reviewers said.. I don't know how this has such good reviews; it makes me think that no one here has had truly amazing red curry to think this recipe is worth making. It was edible..nothing more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Seems there is a Thai ingredient missing to give it that unique taste....will have to delve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I tried this recipe as the way it is, I added a few stuff like Zucchini and Paprika and ended up tastingeven better I might try to do it again soon and follow some recommendations on the curry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This recipe was pretty good. It was missing something like everyone else was saying. I doubled the recipe and added extra Thai red curry paste. About 2 tablespoons total of4 since I doubled it. I also added a pinch of brown sugar. And salt and pepper on the veggies. No point in adding the corn starch I didn't add it and it was thick enough. Oh and use just regular coconut milk. And a around a tablespoon of peanut butter. And fresh garlic to the veggies Yummy it came out so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
It wasn't very good. It had no flavor, boo...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I made this dish with some changes as recommended by other reviewers and enjoyed it very much. Definitely use sesame oil and saute some fresh ginger and fresh garlic in the oil before you saute the chicken. In a separate bowl, I mixed all the wet ingredients, added fish sauce and some peanut butter, and I did not use 'light' coconut milk - I used full strength - and then poured the mix over the chicken and vegetables. Next time I make this, I am definitely going to double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Persico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Not as good as expected. Need to add a lot more curry and spice as this is bland in the amount called for. I'm a novice with curry recipes, so I didn't expect to have to add so much more curry paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States