Thai Red Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I gave it 3 stars because it has potential... but as is, as per several other reviews: 100% flavorless. No question you must season the chicken before you add it to the skillet (and perhaps season the vegetables as well). I like a little kick so I added a lot of chili powder and it still could've used more. Also, next time I will at least double the curry paste. It smelled amazing, but when I actually sat down and took a bite I was disappointed. I think all it needs is more of everything spice related -- more: salt, peper, chili powder and curry paste. I will try this again though, lesson learned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ali
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I followed both the recipe, and the other reviews:) I added 1 extra teaspoon of curry paste, 1 teaspoon of brown sugar, salt and pepper to taste, and the juice from 1/2 lemon. My only concern is that the sauce wasn't too watery (I uploaded a photo), compared to the displayed picture. I loved the taste though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ali
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
very little flavor as written. had to add way more curry paste. found it's much better if it sits overnight and is reheated the next day. will try again with different veggies and making curry sauce the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Not good at all. No flavor. Family did not like this. One person added a bunch of stuff, I would try it again with those items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Very good. I marinated the chicken in low sodium soy sauce, garlic, ginger, b pepper for about an hour before cooking it. Used pea pods instead of zucchini and it was very nice and quick dinner. Served over brown jamsmine rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I love Thai red curry (Gaeng Phed Gai), and this was a nice and quick recipe. I made some adjustments to make it more authentic. I used fish sauce for salt, and I added basil and lime leaves - and the vegetables that was in my fridge: carrots, peas, bell peppers and a tin of bamboo shots. If you don't get lime leaves, you can use zest and juice from one lime, or lemon grass. It's such a rich dish that I really think it needs some acid. But this was a nice starting point :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ridiculina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This was awsome!! Just like at my favorite restuarant!!! I didn't put in the zuccini....and I added the whole packet of red curry paste....absolutely awsome!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
very good, very easy, I make it at least once a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
My boyfriend and i love this recipe - the only difference is I brought the sauce to a boil first - then added the meat, carrots and bamboo shoots, I upped the red curry paste just a bit and added a teaspoon of peanut butter to it. I will make this recipe over and over again! Very Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I give it three stars as written. Next time, I will double the curry powder. Salt and pepper throughout, and add fish sauce. Good base, but the flavors aren't deep enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States