Thai Red Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Yummm... this is a great base recipe. I, like other reviewers, made some changes to boost the flavor. I added in some fish sauce and more than doubled the curry (it wasn't spicy curry though). I added in some peppers for heat. It's also great with a little bit of peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Although this was very quick and easy, it was pretty bland. I might try again adding some fish sauce, garlic, ginger and lime juice as suggested by other reviewers. I think these would significantly add to the flavour. Mine wasn't spicy at all, so I would probably add some additional curry paste as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Very good as is! Next time I added more curry since we like it with 'kick'. I've tried several different brands of red curry (and green) and the hotness factor is dependent upon the brand name. You just have to experiment to get it to your satisfaction. We eat vegan 70% of the time so I tried making it without the chicken and used chickpeas instead..then threw in extra veggies. It was good that way too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I used shrimp instead of chicken, since I forgot to defrost. I also added at least another tablespoon of curry paste as well as a tablespoon of fish sauce. (Forgot about the minced garlic suggestion, but I will add that next time as well.) This was an excellent dish! I know I will be making this often, instead of going out to dinner for my curry cravings now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
My boyfriend really enjoyed eating this dish. I added 1 tsp of curry paste and also added sugar, a few dashes of fish sauce and cayenne pepper to the recipe. I used carrots, onions and green beans. I combined the curry paste with the corn starch and some of the coconut milk as another reviewer had suggested. I also sweated some minced garlic prior to cooking the chicken. Would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meowmix318

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I gave it 3 stars because it has potential... but as is, as per several other reviews: 100% flavorless. No question you must season the chicken before you add it to the skillet (and perhaps season the vegetables as well). I like a little kick so I added a lot of chili powder and it still could've used more. Also, next time I will at least double the curry paste. It smelled amazing, but when I actually sat down and took a bite I was disappointed. I think all it needs is more of everything spice related -- more: salt, peper, chili powder and curry paste. I will try this again though, lesson learned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ali
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I followed both the recipe, and the other reviews:) I added 1 extra teaspoon of curry paste, 1 teaspoon of brown sugar, salt and pepper to taste, and the juice from 1/2 lemon. My only concern is that the sauce wasn't too watery (I uploaded a photo), compared to the displayed picture. I loved the taste though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ali
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
very little flavor as written. had to add way more curry paste. found it's much better if it sits overnight and is reheated the next day. will try again with different veggies and making curry sauce the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Not good at all. No flavor. Family did not like this. One person added a bunch of stuff, I would try it again with those items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Very good. I marinated the chicken in low sodium soy sauce, garlic, ginger, b pepper for about an hour before cooking it. Used pea pods instead of zucchini and it was very nice and quick dinner. Served over brown jamsmine rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States