Thai Red Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
YUM! This is a very good, quick and easy Thai recipe! I give it four stars because it does require some adjustments. After reading several reviews, I added lime juice, fresh garlic (4 cloves), 1 Tbsp brown sugar, some coriander, snow peas, salt and pepper (at least 1/2 tsp of salt...I prefer even more) and a heaping spoonful of peanut butter (special thanks to the reviewer who suggested that addition)! Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Super delicious, super easy, super fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleMissSunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oilgeenee
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
As is this recipe fell very flat and tasteless. But after adding a few things it was a very good base for curry chicken. You just need to add your own touch to it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oilgeenee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Restaurant quality. According to other's reviews with missing ingredient, I used Thai Fish Sauce - just a TBSP and a couple shakes of cayenne pepper. Onions could be cooked a little longer. But is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Yummm... this is a great base recipe. I, like other reviewers, made some changes to boost the flavor. I added in some fish sauce and more than doubled the curry (it wasn't spicy curry though). I added in some peppers for heat. It's also great with a little bit of peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Although this was very quick and easy, it was pretty bland. I might try again adding some fish sauce, garlic, ginger and lime juice as suggested by other reviewers. I think these would significantly add to the flavour. Mine wasn't spicy at all, so I would probably add some additional curry paste as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Very good as is! Next time I added more curry since we like it with 'kick'. I've tried several different brands of red curry (and green) and the hotness factor is dependent upon the brand name. You just have to experiment to get it to your satisfaction. We eat vegan 70% of the time so I tried making it without the chicken and used chickpeas instead..then threw in extra veggies. It was good that way too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I used shrimp instead of chicken, since I forgot to defrost. I also added at least another tablespoon of curry paste as well as a tablespoon of fish sauce. (Forgot about the minced garlic suggestion, but I will add that next time as well.) This was an excellent dish! I know I will be making this often, instead of going out to dinner for my curry cravings now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
My boyfriend really enjoyed eating this dish. I added 1 tsp of curry paste and also added sugar, a few dashes of fish sauce and cayenne pepper to the recipe. I used carrots, onions and green beans. I combined the curry paste with the corn starch and some of the coconut milk as another reviewer had suggested. I also sweated some minced garlic prior to cooking the chicken. Would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meowmix318

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I gave it 3 stars because it has potential... but as is, as per several other reviews: 100% flavorless. No question you must season the chicken before you add it to the skillet (and perhaps season the vegetables as well). I like a little kick so I added a lot of chili powder and it still could've used more. Also, next time I will at least double the curry paste. It smelled amazing, but when I actually sat down and took a bite I was disappointed. I think all it needs is more of everything spice related -- more: salt, peper, chili powder and curry paste. I will try this again though, lesson learned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States