Thai Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
A great recipe when you make these changes: 1. Use more garlic (6-8 cloves) 2. Use lots of fresh lemongrass. Take a spike of lemongrass, hammer it to release the flavor, add to the oil and remember to strain it out in the end. 3. Fresh ginger works great also, add to the oil and strain out in the end. 4. Use a Thai oil like peanut oil. You can skip the butter. 5. Spice the soup towards the end using your favorite Thai spices. I used tumeric, paprika, curry, etc.) 6. When serving, squeeze a few drops of lime juice and zest some lime peel (Keffir lime works amazing if you have access to a specialty produce store, but regular limes will bring out a lot of flavor too). 7. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
Excellent, really, really, good! It has a explosive flavor that is unique. But if your going to make it dont mess with the ingredients till you've tried it. PLEASE. Recomend for those who enjoy exotic food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
The soup was a bit too rich and the lemon grass left strings of hard fibers behind after blending. However, I will cook this again! I increased the seasonings and added some "Tom Yum" paste since other reviewrs thought it needed a boost. Next time I will do the same, but use lite coconut milk and use less coconut milk and more broth. This recipe is worth tinkering with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
this was served at a recent all staff meeting. (One of the pleasures of working at Allrecipes!) It was delicious and tasted of Fall, but with a Thai twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Williams

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This was really a nice pumpkin soup, but the Thai flavors were very subtle (I was hoping for a little more Thai taste, since I love Thai food). I added fresh ginger, more garlic, cayenne pepper, more lemongrass and more chilis the second time I made this. And everyone wanted seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoseanneM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Great soup! Careful with the chilies though, I doubled all the ingredients to cater for more people and I found that two chilie gave it a sufficient kick. Also added a couple of teaspoons of freshly grated ginger... yumeee ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
I'd try it again cooking the pumpkin separately in the chicken stock, then adding the sauteed shallot, etc. right before sticking in the blender. The seasonings lost significant flavor cooking in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKING66

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
thank you so much for this recipe. it was exactly what i was looking for. i have a lot of baked squash from last fall's harvest that needs to be cleared out of the freezer. in this recipe i used two pounds of hubbard squash pulp, so i didn't have to cook the soup for a long time, since the squash was already soft. also, i don't have access to good quality fresh lemongrass, so i picked up one of those tubes of processed lemongrass. another change i made was with the red chili's. my baby doesn't like me very much when i eat spicy foods, so i used half a red bell pepper with a very small dash of red chili flakes. it was the perfect amount of heat (think 1/4 star on the thai scale). excellent recipe & SO easy! thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
Great and easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
A friend of my mother-in law made this soup while we were visiting. It was WONDERFUL!!! I had to get a copy of the recipe. I am looking forward to sharing this wonderful soup with my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States