Thai Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
thank you so much for this recipe. it was exactly what i was looking for. i have a lot of baked squash from last fall's harvest that needs to be cleared out of the freezer. in this recipe i used two pounds of hubbard squash pulp, so i didn't have to cook the soup for a long time, since the squash was already soft. also, i don't have access to good quality fresh lemongrass, so i picked up one of those tubes of processed lemongrass. another change i made was with the red chili's. my baby doesn't like me very much when i eat spicy foods, so i used half a red bell pepper with a very small dash of red chili flakes. it was the perfect amount of heat (think 1/4 star on the thai scale). excellent recipe & SO easy! thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
i love this soup. i added some curry powder and cilantro. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
With all of the delicious spices in this soup, I was excited to taste it. I used dried lemongrass instead of fresh - that was a mistake. The bits of lemongrass were tough to chew and didn't blend in well. I used reduced fat coconut milk and I ended up not tasting any coconut flavor at all. Overall the flavor was dull. I can't help but think I did something wrong. Too much canned pumpkin, maybe. I'm not sure but with enough salt, my husband and I ate it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORI2573

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Aussies love their pumpkin soup... and they love their Thai, this combines the best of both. My entire family (small boys included) loved this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
After tasting it, I decided it needed some sea salt and some extra chopped lemongrass. Good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
A very simple recipe yet tasteful recipe. I added 1 tbsp green curry paste, 3 kaffir lime leaves, and 3 tbsp brown sugar -fantastic !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This is a delicious recipe... well balanced and flavorful. We only used 1 chili pepper, and it wasn't spicy at all (maybe not spicy enough).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This soup is really good, but like others, a little too bland for my taste. The first time I made it, it was a hit. I couldn't find fresh lemon grass so I used powdered and I added a bit of curry and vegetable base (Better than Bouillion). I made some today since I had some pumpkin that I had pureed in the freezer. I was missing some, well alot of the ingredients so improvised...3 shallots instead of four, one more clove of garlic, no chicken broth so I made vegetable broth with the vegetable base, no coconut milk so decided to experiment and added 2 snack cups of unsweetened applesauce along with one cup of rice milk, again used curry (love the stuff), oh and about 1/4 of a red pepper since I didn't have chili peppers and a pinch of crushed red pepper for a little kick. Not bad... not bad at all...tastes about the same as the first time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Great soup! Careful with the chilies though, I doubled all the ingredients to cater for more people and I found that two chilie gave it a sufficient kick. Also added a couple of teaspoons of freshly grated ginger... yumeee ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
Kerri R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States