Thai Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
thank you so much for this recipe. it was exactly what i was looking for. i have a lot of baked squash from last fall's harvest that needs to be cleared out of the freezer. in this recipe i used two pounds of hubbard squash pulp, so i didn't have to cook the soup for a long time, since the squash was already soft. also, i don't have access to good quality fresh lemongrass, so i picked up one of those tubes of processed lemongrass. another change i made was with the red chili's. my baby doesn't like me very much when i eat spicy foods, so i used half a red bell pepper with a very small dash of red chili flakes. it was the perfect amount of heat (think 1/4 star on the thai scale). excellent recipe & SO easy! thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
i love this soup. i added some curry powder and cilantro. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
With all of the delicious spices in this soup, I was excited to taste it. I used dried lemongrass instead of fresh - that was a mistake. The bits of lemongrass were tough to chew and didn't blend in well. I used reduced fat coconut milk and I ended up not tasting any coconut flavor at all. Overall the flavor was dull. I can't help but think I did something wrong. Too much canned pumpkin, maybe. I'm not sure but with enough salt, my husband and I ate it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORI2573

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Aussies love their pumpkin soup... and they love their Thai, this combines the best of both. My entire family (small boys included) loved this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
After tasting it, I decided it needed some sea salt and some extra chopped lemongrass. Good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
A very simple recipe yet tasteful recipe. I added 1 tbsp green curry paste, 3 kaffir lime leaves, and 3 tbsp brown sugar -fantastic !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This is a delicious recipe... well balanced and flavorful. We only used 1 chili pepper, and it wasn't spicy at all (maybe not spicy enough).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This soup is really good, but like others, a little too bland for my taste. The first time I made it, it was a hit. I couldn't find fresh lemon grass so I used powdered and I added a bit of curry and vegetable base (Better than Bouillion). I made some today since I had some pumpkin that I had pureed in the freezer. I was missing some, well alot of the ingredients so improvised...3 shallots instead of four, one more clove of garlic, no chicken broth so I made vegetable broth with the vegetable base, no coconut milk so decided to experiment and added 2 snack cups of unsweetened applesauce along with one cup of rice milk, again used curry (love the stuff), oh and about 1/4 of a red pepper since I didn't have chili peppers and a pinch of crushed red pepper for a little kick. Not bad... not bad at all...tastes about the same as the first time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Great soup! Careful with the chilies though, I doubled all the ingredients to cater for more people and I found that two chilie gave it a sufficient kick. Also added a couple of teaspoons of freshly grated ginger... yumeee ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
Kerri R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States