Thai Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This was very good - flavorful - but not the best pumpkin soup I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Parks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Delicious. The basil is absolutely what makes this dish work. Ended up chopping up the entire stalk of lemongrass and throwing in some ginger and extra garlic as the soup's flavor was a little on the bland side, although that might have been because I used a red bell pepper since I live with people who can't handle a little spice in their food and also because I used store-bought stock (no, it wasn't broth). I will definitely play with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XiaoSiobhan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This was really a nice pumpkin soup, but the Thai flavors were very subtle (I was hoping for a little more Thai taste, since I love Thai food). I added fresh ginger, more garlic, cayenne pepper, more lemongrass and more chilis the second time I made this. And everyone wanted seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoseanneM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
this was served at a recent all staff meeting. (One of the pleasures of working at Allrecipes!) It was delicious and tasted of Fall, but with a Thai twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Williams

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I love anything Thai its true - but this savory pumpkin I would never think of pairing with Thai coconut milk and lemon grass - but it works...and the basil on top just makes it all work together perfectly for a robust flavorful soup! I had two helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita Margarita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: University Place, Washington, USA
Living In: Redondo, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
It was alright. It was my first Pumpkin Soup. I guess I just dont like the pumplin flavor. It is too mild. I bet people would love it, who love the pumpkin flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I love this...I always add 1 tsp of curry powder. Makes it extra special!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
thank you so much for this recipe. it was exactly what i was looking for. i have a lot of baked squash from last fall's harvest that needs to be cleared out of the freezer. in this recipe i used two pounds of hubbard squash pulp, so i didn't have to cook the soup for a long time, since the squash was already soft. also, i don't have access to good quality fresh lemongrass, so i picked up one of those tubes of processed lemongrass. another change i made was with the red chili's. my baby doesn't like me very much when i eat spicy foods, so i used half a red bell pepper with a very small dash of red chili flakes. it was the perfect amount of heat (think 1/4 star on the thai scale). excellent recipe & SO easy! thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
i love this soup. i added some curry powder and cilantro. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
With all of the delicious spices in this soup, I was excited to taste it. I used dried lemongrass instead of fresh - that was a mistake. The bits of lemongrass were tough to chew and didn't blend in well. I used reduced fat coconut milk and I ended up not tasting any coconut flavor at all. Overall the flavor was dull. I can't help but think I did something wrong. Too much canned pumpkin, maybe. I'm not sure but with enough salt, my husband and I ate it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORI2573

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States