Thai Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This soup was okay. If I'd stuck with the quantities as written, however, it would have been rather bland. I made it to a 'T', except for doubling the amount of lemongrass and garlic as suggested by other reviewers, and even still both my housemate and I agreed it was a very bland soup. I then proceeded to add another tablespoon of lemongrass; chopped fresh cilantro (maybe about 4 tablespoons); and the juice of 1/2 a lime. These additions definitely helped the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This soup was a hit for the entire family. I made some slight modifications based on what I had in my house and personal preferences. I doubled the amount of garlic and lemon grass that the recipe called for and used canned pumpkin instead of fresh (1 can = 2 cups). I also added about a 1 teaspoon of ground ginger and a 1/2 teaspoon of yellow curry powder. Instead of red chili peppers I used green serrano peppers. I also added some coconut syrup (about a teaspoon) to sweeten the spiciness of the soup. This was an amazing recipe to work with! Next time I think I might add some crushed peanuts as garnish with the basil before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Very tasty-my husband loves Thai food and said this was excellent. Fun and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This was very good - flavorful - but not the best pumpkin soup I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Parks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Delicious. The basil is absolutely what makes this dish work. Ended up chopping up the entire stalk of lemongrass and throwing in some ginger and extra garlic as the soup's flavor was a little on the bland side, although that might have been because I used a red bell pepper since I live with people who can't handle a little spice in their food and also because I used store-bought stock (no, it wasn't broth). I will definitely play with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XiaoSiobhan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This was really a nice pumpkin soup, but the Thai flavors were very subtle (I was hoping for a little more Thai taste, since I love Thai food). I added fresh ginger, more garlic, cayenne pepper, more lemongrass and more chilis the second time I made this. And everyone wanted seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoseanneM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
this was served at a recent all staff meeting. (One of the pleasures of working at Allrecipes!) It was delicious and tasted of Fall, but with a Thai twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Williams

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I love anything Thai its true - but this savory pumpkin I would never think of pairing with Thai coconut milk and lemon grass - but it works...and the basil on top just makes it all work together perfectly for a robust flavorful soup! I had two helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita Margarita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: University Place, Washington, USA
Living In: Redondo, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
It was alright. It was my first Pumpkin Soup. I guess I just dont like the pumplin flavor. It is too mild. I bet people would love it, who love the pumpkin flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I love this...I always add 1 tsp of curry powder. Makes it extra special!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States