Thai Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Really great! I added extra lemon grass for a stronger thai flavor I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This soup is perfect the way it is. The only thing you should be aware of is the lemon grass strings. The fibers will be extremely annoying unless you A. Strain them before adding the pumpkin B. Put them in a metal loose tea bag so that they don't mix with the soup, but still seep out the flavor. I will be making this soup a lot and it works great with nutmeg pumpkins if you have those in your area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Germerican

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
We added fresh ginger instead of lemongrass, and cooked chicken after blending, it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This is a good base. I added about 2 tablespoons of fish sauce and brown sugar, as well as the juice of half a lime to deepen the Thai flavor. Next time, I am also going to mix in some jasmine rice and bean sprouts so the soup can stand as a meal on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Excellent recipe! Easily made vegan with vegetable stock vegan butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I doubled the garlic an lemongrass, as suggested, and used a can of each of the liquids. LOVED IT. I also used the prechopped lemongrass and chillies in the produce section. Made it much faster and easier to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I can't honestly rate this as written, but what I made was a definite 5 in my house! As is customary in many reviews, here is my version, changes only: (omitted red pepper and lemon grass) 3 cloves garlic, 1/2 sweet onion subbed for shallots, 1 can chicken broth, 1 can LITE coconut milk, 1 tsp. ginger paste from the tube (in the fresh herbs produce section) and added 10-15 cooked shrimp. Also, allow to salt and pepper to taste. And my #1 secret??? I used 3 1/2 c pureed fresh sweet Hubbard squash, bright orange in color, and it was fresh and amazing! Truly a blend of my favorite Thai soup with a fall pumpkin taste! What an amazing soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leenie050

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This has a very nice flavor... not over the top, but a nice thai flavor. I used one dried chili pepper in place of the fresh and it had a nice warmth to it. I also used butternut squash in place of pumpkin. Please note that this makes a fairly thin soup; if you were looking for a bisque consistency you may want to decrease the amount of broth. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This is really good as-is, and a great springboard for add-ins and adjustments. The Thai flavors are pretty subtle so if you like your Thai strong like I do, you will probably want to crank them up. I added red curry and threw some lime leaves in while my soup was cooking, and doubled the lemon grass. We had this with cold shrimp and chili-garlic sauce as an appetizer. Oh, I also used canned pumpkin because it's not in season now, but I really wanted to make this soup - it works fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I just made this soup and it was so nice... The Thai basil made it marvelous. Will make again for sure. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States