Thai Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This recipe didn't deliver the flavour I was expecting. I doubled the herbs and spices and added some peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This was so bland, it didn't have any flavor. I served it to a friend and his response was "This doesn't taste like anything!" I followed the recipe, took some suggestions from other reviewers and added extra garlic and a bit of red curry, and still this soup was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Andree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This did start out a little too subtle for my boyfriend's taste, but I cheated and added some "Thai seasoning" from a tube I found in the produce section. I also made this into more of a meal by adding chicken, bell peppers, and onions; I cooked these in the seasonings first and gradually introduced the soup ingredients. He was skeptical, but really liked it - I caught him wiping the pan clean with a piece of bread later! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
WOW! Great soup! I only used one red chili pepper and it just the right amount of kick. We love pumpkin soup around here and this one is just right for Thai night. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Our family loved this soup. We didn't have lemongrass, though, in our local supermarket so we just squeezed a tablespoon plus a little more of a fresh lemon into the garlic/shallot mix. Wonderful with some fresh ground pepper, a tiny pinch of salt, and the basil garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
A great recipe when you make these changes: 1. Use more garlic (6-8 cloves) 2. Use lots of fresh lemongrass. Take a spike of lemongrass, hammer it to release the flavor, add to the oil and remember to strain it out in the end. 3. Fresh ginger works great also, add to the oil and strain out in the end. 4. Use a Thai oil like peanut oil. You can skip the butter. 5. Spice the soup towards the end using your favorite Thai spices. I used tumeric, paprika, curry, etc.) 6. When serving, squeeze a few drops of lime juice and zest some lime peel (Keffir lime works amazing if you have access to a specialty produce store, but regular limes will bring out a lot of flavor too). 7. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Made this soup just as recipe stated. Not so good. After some doctoring it was better. Added a t. or so of red curry paste, fresh grated ginger, some lime juice and chopped basil. Only pureed half the soup so it had more texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BILNSAM

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Really great! I added extra lemon grass for a stronger thai flavor I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This soup is perfect the way it is. The only thing you should be aware of is the lemon grass strings. The fibers will be extremely annoying unless you A. Strain them before adding the pumpkin B. Put them in a metal loose tea bag so that they don't mix with the soup, but still seep out the flavor. I will be making this soup a lot and it works great with nutmeg pumpkins if you have those in your area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Germerican

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
We added fresh ginger instead of lemongrass, and cooked chicken after blending, it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States