Thai Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Preparing the pumpkin was a pain but I really wanted to try this recipe. I found it a bit too bland fo me so I tweaked it a bit. After it was cooked I added about 2 heaping table spoons of Brown Sugar, The zest of an entire lemon, juice of half a lemon and a good table spoon of curry powder. I then left it simmer for another 5-10 minutes. NOW it's tasty. It has some sweet, some sour, and some depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I love this soup! Easy, quick, healthy and very very delicious will make it over and over again. Next time may kick it up with a little more spice. Shirley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I have to say, I didn't love this. I followed the recipe to the letter at first. When I tasted the soup, it had plenty of heat, but was strangely still bland despite that. Adding salt helped a lot, but I still felt it needed a sour component to balance it out. If I had had limes on hand, that might have done the trick. If I make this again, I will be sure to squeeze in some lime juice near or at the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This recipe didn't deliver the flavour I was expecting. I doubled the herbs and spices and added some peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Laux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This was so bland, it didn't have any flavor. I served it to a friend and his response was "This doesn't taste like anything!" I followed the recipe, took some suggestions from other reviewers and added extra garlic and a bit of red curry, and still this soup was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Andree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This did start out a little too subtle for my boyfriend's taste, but I cheated and added some "Thai seasoning" from a tube I found in the produce section. I also made this into more of a meal by adding chicken, bell peppers, and onions; I cooked these in the seasonings first and gradually introduced the soup ingredients. He was skeptical, but really liked it - I caught him wiping the pan clean with a piece of bread later! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
WOW! Great soup! I only used one red chili pepper and it just the right amount of kick. We love pumpkin soup around here and this one is just right for Thai night. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Our family loved this soup. We didn't have lemongrass, though, in our local supermarket so we just squeezed a tablespoon plus a little more of a fresh lemon into the garlic/shallot mix. Wonderful with some fresh ground pepper, a tiny pinch of salt, and the basil garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
A great recipe when you make these changes: 1. Use more garlic (6-8 cloves) 2. Use lots of fresh lemongrass. Take a spike of lemongrass, hammer it to release the flavor, add to the oil and remember to strain it out in the end. 3. Fresh ginger works great also, add to the oil and strain out in the end. 4. Use a Thai oil like peanut oil. You can skip the butter. 5. Spice the soup towards the end using your favorite Thai spices. I used tumeric, paprika, curry, etc.) 6. When serving, squeeze a few drops of lime juice and zest some lime peel (Keffir lime works amazing if you have access to a specialty produce store, but regular limes will bring out a lot of flavor too). 7. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Made this soup just as recipe stated. Not so good. After some doctoring it was better. Added a t. or so of red curry paste, fresh grated ginger, some lime juice and chopped basil. Only pureed half the soup so it had more texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BILNSAM

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States