Thai Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I added a tablespoon of brown sugar and sprinkled the top with crushed peanuts...delicious!!! A staple now for putlucks and cold winter nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Wow, this was so bad. I followed the recipe and I couldn't eat it. My wife couldn't either, and she tried. I had hopes, but this dashed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Very good, worthy of serving to guests. I couldn't find unsweetened coconut milk so I used regular. For the lemon grass I used a full stalk, cut into 3 or 4-inch strips, and pounded it in the pan with a meat hammer to expose the pulp. Before pureeing the soup I sifted it to remove the lemon grass pieces. I thought the soup was a little too liquidy so I boiled a lot of it off. I heard sugar pumpkins have less moisture than regular pumpkins so that might fix the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I made this as the recipe calls for it. Does not do anything for me...Not a fall/harvest pumpkin feel or taste and also not spicy or Thai tasting. All and all, a pretty big disappointment. Now I have three more nights of blah to look forward to. Not sure why this got such good ratings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Great soup. Very authentic and the chillis certainly give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Just made this: it was really nice. The combination works surprisingly well. I did add a bit of salt, nam pla (fish sauce) and a tablespoon of lime juice to give it more kick. If I did it again I'd use 4-5 sticks of fresh lemon grass, cleaned, bashed and cut into 3-5cm long strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Followed the recipe to the T but found it exceptionally bland. Added grated ginger and cooked a while longer, but still no flavor. Definitely needs more punch, perhaps helped by lime or lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Loved this! I felt like I just made restaurant quality soup...no, better! The key was to strain it after blending- it results in a smooth and beautiful soup. Next time I'll take it down a notch in the chile dept just based on preference, but it is very Thai tasting as-is. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I only had canned pumpkin on hand, so I used that, but the soup was not as thick as I would have liked. Next time I will add less stock. As others have mentioned it didn't have as much flavor as I was hoping for, so I added some ginger and lime juice. This would make a great base, so next time I will plan on adding vegetables, and perhaps some chicken to the soup to make it more hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This soup is great! I added a Tbsp of red curry paste and doubled the garlic. So amazing and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States