Thai Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I made this as the recipe calls for it. Does not do anything for me...Not a fall/harvest pumpkin feel or taste and also not spicy or Thai tasting. All and all, a pretty big disappointment. Now I have three more nights of blah to look forward to. Not sure why this got such good ratings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Great soup. Very authentic and the chillis certainly give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Just made this: it was really nice. The combination works surprisingly well. I did add a bit of salt, nam pla (fish sauce) and a tablespoon of lime juice to give it more kick. If I did it again I'd use 4-5 sticks of fresh lemon grass, cleaned, bashed and cut into 3-5cm long strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Followed the recipe to the T but found it exceptionally bland. Added grated ginger and cooked a while longer, but still no flavor. Definitely needs more punch, perhaps helped by lime or lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Loved this! I felt like I just made restaurant quality soup...no, better! The key was to strain it after blending- it results in a smooth and beautiful soup. Next time I'll take it down a notch in the chile dept just based on preference, but it is very Thai tasting as-is. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I only had canned pumpkin on hand, so I used that, but the soup was not as thick as I would have liked. Next time I will add less stock. As others have mentioned it didn't have as much flavor as I was hoping for, so I added some ginger and lime juice. This would make a great base, so next time I will plan on adding vegetables, and perhaps some chicken to the soup to make it more hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This soup is great! I added a Tbsp of red curry paste and doubled the garlic. So amazing and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Preparing the pumpkin was a pain but I really wanted to try this recipe. I found it a bit too bland fo me so I tweaked it a bit. After it was cooked I added about 2 heaping table spoons of Brown Sugar, The zest of an entire lemon, juice of half a lemon and a good table spoon of curry powder. I then left it simmer for another 5-10 minutes. NOW it's tasty. It has some sweet, some sour, and some depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I love this soup! Easy, quick, healthy and very very delicious will make it over and over again. Next time may kick it up with a little more spice. Shirley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I have to say, I didn't love this. I followed the recipe to the letter at first. When I tasted the soup, it had plenty of heat, but was strangely still bland despite that. Adding salt helped a lot, but I still felt it needed a sour component to balance it out. If I had had limes on hand, that might have done the trick. If I make this again, I will be sure to squeeze in some lime juice near or at the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States