Thai Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I loved this soup. I used canned curry paste instead of the chilies, lemongrass and garlic. I plan to make it again. It's still good reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I didn't have the lemongrass on hand, and I used onion instead of shallot, because that's what I had. I used pureed pumpkin and the cream of coconut, then shredded cilantro and basil, added a dash of sucanat (brown sugar). EXCELLENT soup. Oh yeah and I didn't have chilis so I used cayenne and red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Served at a potluck and universally liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHMEJIAS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I agree with Michelly2's review - try this recipe as is before messing with the ingredients. The recipe is good as is. After trying it that way, I opted to add twice the amount of lemongrass (paste) and 6 garlic cloves for personal tastes. Anyone who has had authentic, Asian Thai pumpkin soup will enjoy this recipe. If you add chicken, brown sugar, etc, then it is no longer Thai pumpkin soup - just pumpkin soup. Thanks for the recipe, Brigit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keena_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parker, Colorado, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Once made, it seemed to be missing something flavor-wise, or perhaps it was just a bit too subtle. So I used other reviewers' suggestions and added ginger and extra garlic. I also added some peanut butter which I thought was a good addition. I reserved a little of the coconut cream and swirled some of that on top for decoration and sprinkled with crushed peanuts. Tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Used prepared pumpkin instead of cooking in the chicken broth so to get more of the chicken flavor without thinning the soup, I added 1/2 cup of broth and 1 de-boned chicken thigh an pureed in blender. I subtituted a habanero for red pepper and lemon zest for the lemon grass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
GREAT soup! Everyone LOVED it! I used butter not oil. Lemongrass is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I added a tablespoon of brown sugar and sprinkled the top with crushed peanuts...delicious!!! A staple now for putlucks and cold winter nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Wow, this was so bad. I followed the recipe and I couldn't eat it. My wife couldn't either, and she tried. I had hopes, but this dashed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Very good, worthy of serving to guests. I couldn't find unsweetened coconut milk so I used regular. For the lemon grass I used a full stalk, cut into 3 or 4-inch strips, and pounded it in the pan with a meat hammer to expose the pulp. Before pureeing the soup I sifted it to remove the lemon grass pieces. I thought the soup was a little too liquidy so I boiled a lot of it off. I heard sugar pumpkins have less moisture than regular pumpkins so that might fix the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States